Hacconby
- The parish was in the Bourne sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- The North Lincolnshire Library holds a copy of the parish census returns for 1841 through 1901.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 619 |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2317 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3314 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2557 |
- The Church of St. Andrew was built in the 14th century to replace an earlier church mentioned in the Domesday Book. The church was restored in 1900.
- The spire was struck by lightning on 7 July 1877 and damaged.
- The church seats about 200 persons.
- There was once a chapel of ease in Stainfield.
- Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1561. (Some sources give 1703.) Bishop's transcripts exist from 1561 through 1846.
- Hacconby entries appear in the I.G.I. from 1561.
- We have a partial Parish Register Extract as a pop-up text file. Your additions are welcomed.
- Hacconby Burials 1813-1900 are included on the "Bourne Area Burials" fiche available from The Federation of Family History Societies.
- The Baptists erected a chapel here in 1867. It was also used by the Primitive Methodists. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Bourne sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
Hacconby (sometimes Haconby or Hackonby) is both a town and a parish three and a half miles northeast of Bourne. Morton parish lies to the south. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. The parish covers about 2,600 acres.
The hamlet of Stainfield (Stenfield) lies in Hacconby parish, one mile west of the village. If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, take the A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," which passes down the west side of the parish..
- Visitors may wish to stop and visit the historic Hare and Hound pub.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- Many Roman antiquities have been found here. Stainfield was reportedly once a Roman Station and the site of a mineral spring in use since antiquity.
- In Roman times, Hacconby was prime sheep pasturage. Archeology reveals that up to 100,000 sheep were raised in the parish.
- In more recent times, Hacconby is noted for its local Rock Star, Adam Wakeman.
- Hacconby Hall, in 1913 the property of Thomas Whyment ATKINSON and the residence of Edward Claude GRIFFITH, is a stone house in the Jacobean style, although parts of it date from the Tudor period. It was built by General FYNNE, an aide-de-camp to Oliver CROMWELL. The general settled here after the great rebellion.
- The National Grid Reference for Hacconby is TF 1025.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Hacconby is from the Old Scandinavian Hakon+by, for "farmstead of Hakon", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Hacunesbi.
A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
- In 1822, Henry FRYER left the dividends of £47, six Shillings and tupence for the poor of Stenfield.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
260 |
| 1831 |
381 |
| 1841 |
406 |
| 1871 |
453 |
| 1881 |
412 |
| 1891 |
363 |
| 1911 |
329 |
- A school was first erected here in 1867 at a cost of 200 Pounds. It held up to 80 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 16-June-2009 - Louis R. Mills]