Haxey
- The parish was in the Owston sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Nicholas.
- Portions of the church are of early Norman origin.
- The church was extensively repaired in 1853-54 and the chancel restored in 1874.
- The church seats 450.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by (and copyright of) Wendy Parkinson.

- Here are two photos of Saint Nicholas Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):


- The Anglican parish registers go back to 1559.
- The Lincolnshire Family History Society has provided a marriage index for the Isle of Axholme Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a Wesleyan chapel built here in 1815 and a New Connection Methodist chapel built in 1855. The Primitive Methodists had a chapel here, too, before 1900. For information on these chapels check our Non-Conformist Church Records page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Owston sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
There is a description of Haxey provided by the Isle of Axholme FHS.
This village and parish lies 8 miles northwest of Gainsborough in the Isle of Axholme. Wroot parish and Nottinghamshire are just to the west, with Epworth parish to the north. The parish covers about 8,550 acres and includes the hamlets of Burnham, Upperthorpe, Nethergate, Newbigg, and Park.
If you are planning a visit:
- The village of Haxey is bisected by the B1396 as it travels west from the A161 trunk road.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- Haxey is the ancient capital of the Isle of Axholme.
- In 1741, the major part of the village was destroyed by a fire.
- In the mid to late 1800's, Haxey had a station on the Great Northern Railway.
- On the Twelfth Day (January 6th), the villagers used to play a game called "Throwing the Hood."
- There is a detailed History of Haxey provided by the Isle of Axholme FHS.
- The national grid reference is SK 7699.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Haxey is from the Old Scandinavian Hakr+eg, meaning "island of Hakr." In the 1086 Domesday Book it is rendered as Acheseia.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- The parish was in the ancient Manley Wapentake in the Gainsborough district in the parts of Lindsey.
- In the 1972 government redistricting, this parish became part of the Boothferry District, which is now in the County of Humberside (formerly Lindsey, Lincolnshire).
- In 1723, Jane FARMERY built almshouses for seven poor women of the parish. The Midsummer charity was established to give £8 yearly toward the maintenance of the houses.
- According to Anne Cole, "the only Settlement Certificate documents for Haxey are a list of people who came (into the parish) by certificate in the back of an Overseers' Account Book. The earliest is 1699."
- About 3,341 acres of common land was enlosed here in 1795.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Gainsborough Poorlaw Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1831 |
1,868 |
| 1871 |
2,213 |
| 1891 |
1,855 |
| 1911 |
2,035 |
| 2001 |
4,359 |
- A Free School was first established here in 1654.
- A new school was erected here in 1861 to seat up to 150 students.
- A National School (for boys) was built here in 1873 to seat up to 60 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 11-October-2008 - Louis R. Mills]