Ingham
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- We have a partial 1901 Census Surname list in text form. You are welcome to add to our data.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2596 |
| 1901 |
R.G. 13 / 3066 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- The church is a small building of stone. It was partly rebuilt in 1792 and has had various restorations since.
- The church seats about 120.
- Here is a photo of All Saints Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from the year 1567.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1567 to 1812 and Marriages from 1567 to 1811.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Wesleyan, United and Primitive Methodists each had a chapel here, built in 1834, 1854 and 1836 respectively. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July, 1837.
Ingham in the Ashes (normally just "Ingham") is both a village and a parish about 8 miles north of the city of Lincoln and 12 miles southeast of Gainsborough. Cammeringham parish lies to the south and Fillingham parish to the north (note the "ingham" in each name).
If you are planning a visit:
- Take the B1398 north out of Lincoln. The village is about 7 miles outside of Lincoln.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The national grid reference is SK 9483.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish was in the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1796.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1881 |
596 |
| 1891 |
522 |
| 1911 |
459 |
- A School Board was formed in the parish in April, 1875.
- A Public Elementary School for 100 children was built here in 1878 and opened in April of that year.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 27-August-2008 - Louis R. Mills]