Kirkby Underwood
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2316 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary and All Saints (or All Angels).
- The church was restored in 1893.
- The church seats about 200 people.
- There is a church photo available at Which.Net.
- There is a photograph of St. Mary and All Saints Church on the Wendy Parkinson web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
- Here is a photo of St. Mary and All Saints Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1558. Some sources give 1569.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This village and parish is situated about five miles north of Bourne, just west of the A15 trunk road. Aslackby parish lies to the north and Rippingale parish to the east. The parish covers just under 1,100 acres.
A small creek runs past the north side of the village, enventually joining the River Glen near Bourne. If you are planning a visit:
- For pictures of Kirkby Underwood in the 1950's, visit this Geocities site.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0627.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
Michael Peck provides us with: "There are two memorials, one covering both WW1 and WW2 while the second (a window) is for WW1 only - and this appears to be missing one name (Hill) which appears on the roll. There is an associated plaque with the window, this shows some names and so is included. The window shows ranks and armsof service, the roll merely shows ranks and names. Names recorded are:"
- Pte Bertie Evlyn RUDKIN
- Pte Ernest Henry RUDKIN
- Pte John Thomas WYER
- Pte Richard CHRISTIAN
- Pte Christopher HILL. 1939 - 1945.
- Major John HOLDERNESS
|
Window
- Pvte Bertie Evlyn RUDKIN Lincs Regiment
- Pvte Ernest Henry RUDKIN Royal Berkshire Regiment
- Pvte John Thomas WYER Kings Own Royal Lancashire Regiment
- Pvte Richard CHRISTIAN Labour Corps
|
Associated Plaque - The memorial window at the east end of the chancel was designed and executed by Messrs Burlinson and Grylls Window Artists. London. It was unveiled by W Dyson Esq of Bulby Hall and dedicated by Rev Canon W W Layng Rector of Rippingale and Rural Dean of the Deanery on 24th October 1920. John Smithson Barstow MA Rector, Henry Burbank, Thomas Wyer Churchwardens
- The name "Kirkby" is common in the Midlands. The village name is from the Old Scandinavian kirkju+by, meaning "village with a church". "Underwood" has been added to differentiate it from the other Kirkby villages and hamlets in Lincolnshire.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- The parish had 5 almshouses or bede-houses, endowed by the BROWNLOW family, but these were disused by 1900.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1831 |
162 |
| 1871 |
214 |
| 1891 |
201 |
| 1911 |
155 |
| 1991 |
159 |
- A School Board was established in the parish in July, 1895.
- In the late 1800's, about 30 children attended the school in Kirkby Underwood. Miss Ellen Layland was the schoolmistress in 1871.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 3-July-2008 - Louis R. Mills]