Langtoft
- The parish was in the Deeping sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2319 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3317 |
- The Anglican church is dedicated to St. Michael.
- The oldest portions of the church appear to be from the 13th century.
- The church seats about 290.
- There is a photograph of St. Michael's Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photo of St. Michael's, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- Anglican parish registers exist from 1668, but Bishop's Transcript entries go back to 1561.
- The Lincolnshire Archives have parish register baptisms 1724-1756 on fiche (ref: 13 18 002 01A) and Bishops' Transcripts 1562-1812 on film (ref: MF 4/449, 450). [David Meredith]
- We have the beginning of a parish register extract in a text file. Your additions are welcome.
- The LFHS has published several indexes for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a Congregational chapel built here in 1874. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Deeping sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Langtoft is both a village and parish two miles northwest of Market Deeping, 5 miles south of Bourne and 41 miles southeast of Lincoln. The A15 trunk road goes right through the village. Deeping St. Nicholas lies to the northeast. The area is flat fenland, drained by many small canals, including the South Drove Drain.
If you are planning a visit:
- The national grid reference is TF 1212.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #235 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for resources.
Michael Peck provides us with: "The names recorded (and there is no indication of which war caused the individual deaths) are as below. There are no ranks or arms of service specified:"
- Harrold Ayre
- Ernest Norman Badger
- Robert Day
- Henry Flatters
- John Fowler
- Henry Gay
- William Edward Gay
- James Leonard Goodman
- Robert Arthur Plowright
- George Porter
- Ernest Thacker
- Abraham Warn
- The name Langtoft is from the Old Scandinavian langr+toft, or "long homestead" and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Langetof.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
- We have copies of a handful of Langtoft Apprentice papers from the 1800s.
- In 1707, Rachel HYDE left £50 for the poor. The money was used to purchase a small plot of land which was later sold for £450. The money was then used to purchase two houses in Long Sutton which were rented and the rental income distributed to the parish poor.
- In 1820, the Rev. John MOSSOP leftalittle over 3 acres of land to generate revenue for poor widows of this parish and Baston parish.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
386 |
| 1831 |
606 |
| 1841 |
778 |
| 1871 |
698 |
| 1891 |
533 |
| 1911 |
496 |
- A Public Elementary School was built here in 1859 and enlarged in 1870.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 3-July-2008 - Louis R. Mills]