Leasingham
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- During the Census, the parish was combined with Roxholme parish (just to the north).
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 620 |
- The Anglican church of St. John the Baptist in North Leasingham was pulled down in the 16th century. By 1841, no trace remained.
- The Anglican parish church of St. Andrew appears to date from the 15th century or earlier. It was restored in 1863.
- St. Andrew seats about 200.
- There is a photograph of St. John's Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register, which includes Roxholme, dates from 1682.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1575 to 1813 and Marriages from 1576 to 1812.
- The Bishop's Transcripts start in 1562.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a chapel here for the Wesleyan Reformed Methodists. The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel in Roxholm. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- There was a chapel in Roxholme for Congregationalists, built in 1871.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Leasingham is a both a parish and a village just north-northwest of Sleaford. Ruskington parish lies to the northeast. The parish is just under 3,000 acres and includes the hamlet of Roxholm (Roxholme).
If you are planning a visit:
- By car, take the A15 trunk road north out of Sleaford for about two miles.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- Roxholm Hall is a modern mansion of brick and stone. In 1891, it was the residence and property of John Albert COLE.
- In 1911, Roxholm Hall was the residence and property of Mrs. BOURN.
- There is an Old Hall mentioned in published directories, but no history was provided.
- The national grid reference is TF 0548.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #272 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
- Locals pronounce the name as "Lezingham".
- Leasingham civil and eclessiastical parishes are the consolidation of the two parishes of South Leasingham and North Leasingham (also called "Roxholme").
- The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
- For today's governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
- Leasingham Moor and the Common Lands were enclosed here in 1821.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
- In 1876-84, the Bishop of Nottingham established alsmhouses here for poor widows.
- A Miss WELLS, a former resident of the parish, left the interest from £1,000, part of which was used to maintain a clothing club for widows and widowers.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
364 |
| 1841 |
397 |
| 1881 |
505 |
| 1891 |
466 |
| 1911 |
319 |
- There was a Public Elementary School built here in 1849. The school was enlarged circa 1905 to hold 120 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 19-August-2007 - Louis R. Mills]