Northorpe
- The parish was in the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist.
- Some of the lower portions of the church appear to be of Saxon origin. Most of the structure is Late Norman in style.
- The church seats 120.
- There is a photograph of St. John's Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1593.
- We have a partial Parish Register Extract in a text file. Your additions are welcome.
- Check the Manlake Deanery to see what LFHS indexes exist.
- One should check Gordon Warrington's contributions to FreeReg, which contains baptisms from 1791 - 1981.
- At the North Lincolnshire Library, copies of the parish register are on file covering baptisms, 1593 - 1985, burials, 1593 - 1985, and marriages, 1593 - 1983.
- The Primitive Methodists had a small chapel here, built in 1847 and enlarged in 1899. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Northorpe is a parish and village about eight miles northeast of Gainsborough, due south of Scunthorpe about 11 miles and about 150 miles north of London. Scotton parish lies to the north and Kirton in Lindsey parish to the northeast. The River Eau runs northward through the eastern portion of the parish on its way to the Trent. A small parish in area, it covers only about 1,800 acres. Southorpe parish was once an extra-parochial portion of Northorpe.
Researchers should be careful as there are at least two other hamlets called Northorpe in Lincolnshire (in Donington and Thurlby parishes) and the name occurs elsewhere in England.
If you are planning a visit:
- The village of Northorpe is perhaps best reached off of the A159 trunk road. Either come south through Scotter and Scotton or east at Blyton onto the B1205.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- Northrope Hall is an Elizabethan manor, once the seat of the MONSON family.
- Northcote Hall is a more recent structure, erected by T. F. EMBELTON-FOX.
- The national grid reference is SK 8997.
- For a map, click on MultiMap.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name derives from Old Scandinavian Nor+throp, for "northern farm".
["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]
- Surnames associated with this parish include YERBURGH, MONSON, DALTON and EMBERTON-FOX, all wealthy landowners. Other surnames include COOK, DUCKERING and SLEIGHTHOLME.
- The parish was in the ancient Corringham Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
105 |
| 1831 |
128 |
| 1871 |
208 |
| 1891 |
196 |
| 1911 |
210 |
- A National School was built here in 1846 for as many as 50 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 8-July-2008 - Louis R. Mills]