Pickworth
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1891, the parish was allocated to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Andrew.
- The church seats about 150.
- There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy Parkinson web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
- Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- Parish registers exist from 1538 as do the Bishop's transcripts.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1538 to 1812 and Marriages from 1538 to 1813.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here before 1872. For more on these chapels and their records, check our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1891, the parish was allocated to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Pickworth is both a village and parish nine miles east of Grantham and three miles west of Folkingham. The parish itself is bounded on the north by Walcot parish, to the west and south by Lenton parish and to the east by Folkingham parish. The parish covers about 1,470 acres. In 1913, the ecclesiastical parish was merged with Walcot.
Pickworth is a small village, off the main roads. If you are planning a visit:
- The town can be accessed off of the A15 trunk road between Bourne and Sleaford. Turn off at Foklingham and head west for about a mile, then turn north.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- In 1841, the principal landowner is the Duke of St. Albans.
- In 1872, the principal landowners were Rhodes MITCHELL (lord of the manor), Sir G. E. WELBY-GREGORY, baronet, the Rev. Thomas HEATHCOTE, and John FOSTER.
- In 1900, the principal landowners were Sir Charles Glynne Earle WELBY, baronet, Thomas Arthur Robert HEATHCOTE, and Mr. William TOPPS. These same folk were the principal landowners in 1913, also.
- The national grid reference is TF 0433.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer 248 map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
Michael Peck reports: "The Pickworth (St Andrew) War Memorials have been recorded. There are 3; a WW1 memorial proper and a separate Roll of Honour for WW1 and WW2. There are no numbers, ranks or arms of service mentioned. On the WW2 roll the surname appears first."
WW1
- In grateful remembrance of Hallam Hardy JOHNSON and George Cooper COOK. Men of this parish who died in the service of their country in the Great War.
WW1 Roll of Honour - Our Roll of Honour 1914 - 1918.
- Charles Sharp. Victoria Cross 9th April 1915 (underlined in gold).
- James Johnson
- Basil Gordon Houghton
- Hardy Johnson [RIP]
- George Cooper Cook[RIP]
- Alfred Davie [Discharged]
- Robert Davie
- Tom Wilson
- William Brewster
- Harry Foster
- Reginald C Houghton
- Fred Johnson
- Francis Cyril Houghton
- Harold Brewster [Discharged]
- George Davie
- Bertie Davie
- Albert Johnson [Discharged]
- William Wilson
- William Rastall
- Walter Foster
- Frank Topps.
WW2 Roll of Honour - Parish of Pickworth on active service.
- Brothwell Walter
- Carter Peter Curtis
- Challis Rupert Edward
- Foster Irene Joan
- Harrison Richard
- Hollingworth George Arthur
- Hollingworth Ivy
- Johnson Victor Hugh
- Kelham Cyril
- Sampson Desmond William
- Smith William Waining
- The name of Pickworth comes from the Old English Pica+worth or "enclosure of a man called Pica". The name appears in the 1086 Domesday Book as Picheuuorde (remember, the "W" is a relatively recent invention).
A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
- White's 1841 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: BARNES, BAXTER, BLAND, CARTER, CHARLTON, ELLIS, GREEN, LOWE, LUNN, MOOR, PACEY, PAULING, RASTALL, RIMINGTON, SARGESON, SEALES, SHARP, SOLOMON, TOPPS, VINE and WORTHINGTON.
- White's 1872 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: ANDREWS, BAXTER, BEESON, BELCHAM, BROTHWELL, CARTER, CHARLTON, CLAYPOLE, COLLISON, FOSTER, HOLLINGWORTH, HOUGHTON, MITCHELL, MOOR, NORRIS, RASTALL, RIMINGTON, SEILES, TOPPS, TOWNSEND, TYERS and WAKERLY.
- Kelly's 1900 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: ANDREWS, BAGWORTH, BECKETT, BREWSTER, CLAYPOLE, CRAWFORD, DICKINSON, FOSTER, GIBBONS, HOLLINGWORTH, KNIGHT, MATTLESS, RASTALL, SMITH and TOPPS.
- Kelly's 1913 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: BACKETT, BREWSTER, BURTON, CLAYPOLE, FOSTER, HOLLINGWORTH, HOUGHTON, KNIGHT, RASTALL, SHAW, SPENCER and TOPPS.
- In 1622, Thomas GIBSON left a yearly dole of 13 Shillings and four pence out of the earnings of Dimsdale House in Grantham.
- In 1704, Michael SOLOMON left a yearly dole of 20 Shillings out of the earnings of the Blue Bell public-house.
- Various donors banked £20 so that the interest could be used to buy coal for the poor of the parish.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
156 |
| 1841 |
265 |
| 1851 |
261 |
| 1861 |
253 |
| 1871 |
240 |
| 1891 |
231 |
| 1911 |
185 |
- A school board of five members was formed on 9 January 1877 for the united school district of Pickworth and Walcot. The children of the parish attend school in Walcot, near the parish border.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 6-September-2008 - Louis R. Mills]