Quadring
- The parish was in the Donington sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2096 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2321 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Margaret.
- There is a photograph of St. Margaret's Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photo of Saint Margaret's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The parish registers go back to 1583.
- Check for marriages in the West Elloe Deanery indexes provided by the Lincolnshire FHS.
- We have a partial (very partial!) extract of baptisms from the Quadring parish register.
- Both the Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists had chapels here. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Donington sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Quadring is both a village and parish eight miles north of Spalding and 102 miles north of London. The parish is bounded on the north by Donington parish and on the south by Gosberton parish. Eaudyke is a hamlet in the parish, 1.5 miles east of the village of Quadring. The area is flat fenland, drained by many small canals, and covers about 4,210 acres. If you are planning a visit:
- The village lies north of the A16 trunk road and south of the A52.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- The national grid reference is TF 2233.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer 249 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Quadring is from the Old English cwead+haefer+ingas, or "Muddy settlement of Haefer". It might be hard to understand how that converted over time until you see that in the 1086 Domesday book, the village is given as Quadhaveringe.
A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
- The locals often pronounce the name as "Quaardrin". And "Quaardrin Iddicks" would be Quadring Eaudyke. [Jeff Ashberry]
- Prior to 1834, the poor of this parish had the revenue from 40 acres of Poor's Land, derived from unknown doners at the Enclosure of common lands in 1755.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spalding Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
506 |
| 1831 |
858 |
| 1871 |
938 |
| 1891 |
852 |
| 1911 |
814 |
- Quadring Mixed School was built in 1877 and enlarged in 1893.
- Cowley and Brown's Charity School was founded in 1700.
- Crawford's Infant School was established prior to 1911.
- Crawford's Eaudyke School was established prior to 1911.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find
help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 18-May-2008 - Louis R. Mills]