Rowston
- The parish was in the Billinghay sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2341 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3348 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Clement. The church was refitted in 1741.
- The church seats about 100.
- There is a photograph of St. Clement's Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photo of St. Clement's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1566.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1562 to 1813 and Marriages from 1562 to 1812.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- There was a Wesleyan Reform Methodist chapel built here in 1861. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- The parish was in the Billinghay sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
This village and parish are north of Sleaford about 12 miles and about a mile north of Digby parish. The parish covers about 1,880 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, the village lies between the B1188 trunk road and the rail line to the east.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0856.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #272 map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1871 |
233 |
| 1891 |
225 |
- A National Schools was built here in 1852. It could hold up to 60 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 13-July-2006 - Louis Mills]