Scothern (Scothorne)
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. German.
- The church was rebuilt in 1796 and again in 1861. Additions have been made in more recent years.
- The church seats about 265.
- A photograph of Saint German's Church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of St. German's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The parish register dates from 1636.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1630 to 1812 and Marriages from 1630 to 1810.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1858. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Scothern is both a village and a parish 6 miles northeast of the city of Lincoln. Dunholme parish lies to the north and Sudbrooke parish to the south. The parish covers just over 2,400 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- The village of Scothern lies between the A46 northeast out of Lincoln and the A158, also northeast out of Lincoln.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0377.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer #272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- "Scothern" frequently appears in many records as "Scothorne". You may also see it as "Scottern".
- The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- In 1616, Robert GRANTHAM left a charity of £16 yearly for 10 poor bedesmen of this parish (and nearby Dunholme and Sudbrooke parishes).
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
- In 1859, Richard ELLISON set up a Trust Fund that left £40 (in 1900) for the poor of this parish.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
328 |
| 1831 |
381 |
| 1871 |
522 |
| 1891 |
425 |
| 1911 |
433 |
- A Public Elementary School was built here in 1837 by Richard ELLISON. It could hold 130 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 30-July-2008 - Louis R. Mills]