Swinstead
- The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2315 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3311 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary.
- The church is built of stone. It was restored in 1854.
- The church seats 250.
- Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- Anglican parish registers exist from 1565, although are only deposited for the period 1733 - 1934.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in the parish. For information and assistance in researching this church, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Swinstead is both a village and parish which lies just east of the A1 trunk road and south of the A151, 2 miles southeast of Corby. The West Glen River runs along the west boundary of the parish. The parish covers about 1,790 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- The national grid reference is TF 0122.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #247 map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name derives from the Old English Swin+ham+stede or "homestead where pigs are kept," and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Suinhamstede.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
- The Common Lands were enclosed here in July of 1778.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
Returns from 1086 are from the Domesday Book. 1991 is an estimate.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1086 |
185 |
| 1801 |
306 |
| 1831 |
402 |
| 1841 |
451 |
| 1871 |
358 |
| 1891 |
343 |
| 1901 |
309 |
| 1991 |
246 |
- A Public Elementary School was built here before 1900 to hold 90 children. In 1911, attendance was 60 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 19-June-2009 - Louis R. Mills]