West Barkwith
- The parish was in the Wragby sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The 1901 Census included these surnames:
WELLS
CRAWFORD
BROXHOLME
HARRISON
FOUNTAIN
KIRK
SHUCKSMITH
STAMPER
- The Anglican parish church was dedicated to All Saints.
- The church is a small stone building. It was completely restored in 1870, followed by alterations in 1883.
- The church seats only about 80.
- The Diocese of Lincoln declared the church redundant in September, 1981. In February, 1983, the church was demolished and the site sold.
- The Anglican parish registers date back to 1684.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Westwold Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Anglican church is currently part of The Barkwith Group of the West Wold Deanery.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Wragby sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
West Barkwith is both a village and a parish in the Wolds, about midway between Louth and Lincoln, 13 miles northeast of Lincoln, 13 miles southwest of Louth and 2.5 miles northeast of Wragby. Panton parish lies to the southeast and West Torrington parish to the northwest. The parish covers about 500 acres.
West Barkwith village lies astride the old Louth Road (now the A157) to Lincoln. If you are planning a visit:
- The Manor House at West Barkwith, Lincoln LN8 5LF, is now open as a bed and breakfast. This 18th century manor house stands in picturesque landscaped grounds overlooking a lake. Situated on the edge of the wolds within easy travelling of Lincoln, Louth, Horncastle and many other places of interest. Country walks from the back door and evening meals a speciality. Village pub nearby.
- The national grid reference is TF 1580.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Horncastle Poor Law Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Wragby petty session hearings.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
66 |
| 1831 |
113 |
| 1871 |
123 |
| 1891 |
132 |
| 1911 |
110 |
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 12-August-2008 - Louis R. Mills]