WARWICKSHIRE
 |
"Warwickshire, a
county in
the west-midlands of England; bounded N. by Staffordshire,
Derbyshire, and Leicestershire, E. by Northamptonshire, S. by
Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire, and W. by Worcestershire; greatest
length, N. and S., 52 miles; greatest breadth, E. and W., 32 miles;
area, 566,271 acres, population 737,339. Warwickshire presents a
pleasant undulating surface of hill and dale, watered by the Avon,
Leam, and Tame. The climate is mild and healthy, and the soil, except
some cold stiff clays on the higher grounds, is fertile. It consists
chiefly of a strong red loam adapted for wheat and beans, or a sandy
loam for barley and turnips. Much land is kept in permanent pasture
for grazing. Formerly the county was thickly wooded (that part N. of
the Avon being called the Forest of Arden), and fine timber is still
abundant. Geologically it mainly belongs to the secondary formation.
A coal field, 16 miles by 3 miles, extends from the neighbourhood of
Coventry to the border of Staffordshire, E. of Tamworth. The
principal minerals are coal, ironstone, limestone, freestone, blue
flagstone, and fire-clay. The manufactures are carried on chiefly at
Birmingham (hardware and silk goods) and Coventry (watches and
ribbons). There are mineral springs at Leamington, Stratford on Avon,
Ilmington, Southam, Willoughby, King's Newnham, &c.; The county
is
traversed in all directions by canals and railways." [Bartholomew's
Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.]
|
INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF WARWICKSHIRE
Archives and Libraries
- Birmingham
Central Library, Chamberlain Square, Birmingham.
- Birmingham
City Archives.
- Coventry Central Library, Local Studies Department,
Smithford Way, Coventry, CV1 1FY Tel +44 (0)1203 832336
- Modern
Records Centre (Univ of Warwick).
- Shakespeare
Birthplace Trust Records Office, Shakespeare Centre, Henley
Street, Stratford upon Avon, CB37 6QW
- Solihull Central Library, Local Studies Collection, Homer
Road, Solihull, West Midlands, B91 3RG Tel +44 (0)121 704 6965
- Sutton Coldfield Library, Local Studies Service, 43 Lower
Parade, Sutton Coldfield, Birmingham, B72 1XX Tel +44 (0)121 345 2274
- Warwickshire
County Library.
- Warwickshire
Libraries - Family History and Local Studies Details of
records at the various libraries throughout the county (excluding
Birmingham).
- Warwickshire
County Record Office, Priory Park, Cape Road, Warwick CV34
4JS. Tel +44 (0)1926 738959, FAX +44 (0)1926 738969
While the Libraries will have a small amount of original
material
they mainly contain published material, including some fiche and
micro film of census.
The original material, particularly Parish Registers, will
have
been deposited at Record Offices. County Record Offices are often
also the Diocesan Record Office as is the case with Warwickshire. The
Birmingham, Deritend, Edgbaston and Erdington registers are at
Birmingham Central Library, those for Stratford-upon-Avon (or Old
Stratford) are at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust and those for some
parishes which are on the county boundary may be found in the
neighbouring County Record Office.
- Birmingham Diocesan Record Office - Anglican (see
Birmingham Central Library, the archives, however, are on the
7th floor. Telephone +44 121 303 4217)
- Archbishop's House, Archdiocese of Birmingham Catholic
Repository, St. Chad's Queensway, Birmingham, B4 6EX Tel +44 (0)121 236
2251
- Coventry Archives, John Sinclair House, The Canal Basin,
Coventry, CV1 4LY Tel +44 (0)24 7678 5164. Website: http://www.theherbert.org/collections/archives/index.htm
- Hereford & Worcester County Record Office, County
Hall, Spetchley Road, Worcester, WR5 2NP Tel +44 (0)1905 766351
- Lichfield Record Office (formerly Lichfield Joint Record
Office), The Friary, Lichfield, Staffordshire, WS13 6QG.
Telephone: (+44) 1543 510771 (note: Lichfield is where Wills
for much of Warwickshire were likely to have been proved pre 1852)
Return to top of page
Bibliography
An index to place names mentioned in the titles of topographical
articles in
the published volumes of the Victoria County History for Warwickshire.
Return to top of page
Cemeteries
Warwickshire
Cemeteries
Census Records
General
Information
about the Census
Census
records for Southern Warwickshire
1851 Census for
Warwickshire (also Devon and Norfolk) on CD ROM.
Online census records FreeCen
Coventry Born
Strays Index 1881 census.12,000 Coventry born people who
moved away from Warwickshire before the census to other counties from
1798 to 1881. Covering the city as its known today, Exhall, Sowe,
Coombe etc ,this is the only index of 1881 Strays from Coventry.
1881 census lookups are available from Jaquie Cook
An offline searchable index of the 1891 census for
Birmingham. has been produced.
Maureen Surman has extracted from the
1841-1891 census records for Worcester
Wharf
Area families where one member of a family was born in
Warwickshire or one
member of the family was a Boatman.
The National Statistics'
"200 Years of the Census" Warwickshire page.
This project is providing a "free-to-view" transcription of the 1891
Warwickshire census returns. It is part of an initiative aimed at
helping make high quality primary (or near-primary) records of
relevance to UK family history conveniently and freely available
online.
The project makes use of specially developed software modules for data
entry, checking, validation and database upload.
Volunteers need a computer and access to a microfiche reader.
Microfiche, software, instructions and lots of advice will be supplied
by the organisers. There is also a dedicated mailing list to
ask questions on and to receive advice about changes or
upgrades to the software
There are two phases. In the first, the volunteer transcribes
the data and enters it into the project software. In the
second phase, another volunteer checks the
transcriptions against the microfiche using a separate piece
of software.
Currently (7 November 2002), we have over 120,000 records for Aston and
Birmingham online. The project has recently expanded to cover
north east Warwickshire, including Coventry and Rugby.
This project will help not just ourselves and others who are
researching Warwickshire family history now, but build a
resource that will help future family historians.
Online family historians can participate no matter where they
live. If you believe, as we do, that this information should
be available for free and free available, then drop me Michael
J McCormick (no email address available) a line.
Here are some (brief) Notes from the 1821
Census for Warwickshire, suggesting reasons for local
population changes, transcribed by Alan Longbottom.
Return to top of page
Church History
Photographs by Sally Lloyd of churches (exterior and
interior) in Warwickshire (This site has moved and the URL
fails to load).
Steve Bulman has photos of churches in Warwickshire.
The
Church
Monuments Society was founded in 1979
and offers a focus for all who have an interest in church monuments of
all types and periods. It was
conceived to encourage the appreciation, study and conservation of
church monuments both in
the UK and abroad. They are setting out to
provide photos and transcriptions of notable church monuments. Coverage
is organised by county and for Warwickshire
is limited at present.
Church Records
Ted Wildy's UK Marriage
witness index entries [
ftp
] for
Warwickshire.
Batch
numbers for use with the familysearch site of
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
The contents of the book "Parish Register Copies in the
Library of
the Society of Genealogists" for
Warwickshire
are now
on-line.
The Quaker FHS have a series of pages on locating Quaker
Records
in various parts of the UK.
Warwickshire
records
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
Details of Registration Districts in
Warwickshire
can help you decide which office to contact.
Certificates of birth, death and marriage can be obtained from
the
Superintendent Registrar at the following District Register Offices:
If ordering from a District Office, please note the
following: (a) the cost of a certificate is currently (April 1998)
6.50 UK pounds - send a Sterling cheque payable to the
Superintendent Registrar plus return postage or two
International Reply Coupons; (b) the St Catherine's Index references
are of no value; (c) for marriage certificates, the precise place of
marriage must be given; (d) Civil Registration in England and Wales
began on July 1st 1837.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
Photographs and
images.
Heart
of England
includes some photographs covering Warwickshire
Pubs
and Taverns in Warwickshire
Black
Country
Return to top of page
Folklore
Folklore in Warwickshire
and in Birmingham
Dorn
Turner's
folklore, customs and superstitions including ancient,
historical,sacred sites and hauntings of the Midlands.
Return to top of page
Genealogy
A
surnames
list compiled by Hugh Winters of Warwickshire research
interests
of a number of Internet and CompuServe users. This list is
continually being updated.
The following information is required for submissions
Names researched
Time frame e.g 1800-1878
Town
Email Address
Postal Address
Web Site Address(If any)
which may be submitted to
Warwickshire
interests
http://www.archivecdbooks.com
Details of CD materials for genealogists.
Genealogical
Research in Birmingham. Details of facilities in
Birmingham.
The
Midlands Historical Data
project produces searchable facsimile copies of old local history books
and directories of interest to genealogists. It specialises in the
three counties of Warwickshire, Worcestershire and Staffordshire,
working closely with libraries, archives and family history societies
in the area. Digital images are made freely available to participating
organisations to improve public access.
Now featuring a free search index on its web-site to all its
books.
Parish
Mouse. Photographs of parish
churches graves and memorials. Transcriptions of old books
and historical directories providing information about the parish
and lists of residents.
On-line
Parish Clerks.
The On-line
Parish Clerk (OPC) Project is designed to get volunteers to
take on the
responsibility for a parish or parishes. Their role is to make on-line
and
look-up facilities available to researchers; OPCs are contactable by
email. Each
OPC may have a transcribed set of his/her parish records, census and
any other
local history information that would be useful to a family historian
with an
interest in the parish. However, it takes time to transcribe and
accumulate
material, so an OPC may not yet have full data for all these sources;
it depends
upon time available.
Electronic Mailing Lists
Warwickshire
section of the RootsChat Messaging Forum.
The
Warwickshire
Genealogy Mailing List is an e-mail list for anyone
with genealogical interests in the county of Warwickshire.
Subscriptions to the List are free of charge. By subscribing to the
List, you will receive e-mail messages from other genealogists and
family historians with roots in Warwickshire. Participation in the
List's discussions is welcomed. Ideas for messages to List can
include:
- The Warwickshire surnames you are researching
- Queries regarding Warwickshire individuals or families
- Questions or information regarding Warwickshire localities
- Questions or information about Warwickshire genealogical
research
- Requests for or offers of help on Warwickshire genealogical
research
- Tips & tricks regarding Warwickshire genealogical
research that you'd like to share with everyone
The
Warwickshire
Look-up Exchange provides details of services available for
Warwickshire.
Warwickshire and Birmingham transcriptions and indexes,
including MIs, Census (inc. FreeCEN) and other submitted data.
Return to top of page
Land and Property
Facsimiles
and annotated transcriptions of the accounts of Thomas
Elkington 1758-9, bailiff to William Holbech of Farnborough Hall. Also
a facsimile
of the almanac in which he wrote these accounts, Rider's
British Merlin 1758
Warwickshire
section
of Pat Johnson's Family Deeds website, providing full transcripts
of old deeds and documents, the originals of which are for sale to
finance further purchases and transcripts
Return to top of page
Maps
British
History Online - Ordnance Survey 1:10,560 Maps - The County Series of Ordnance Survey maps for Great Britain. Begun in 1840,
this is the first comprehensive historic mapping of England, Scotland and
Wales.
Return to top of page
Medical Records
Medical
Heritage of Great Britain,
a site produced by the Bath & Wessex Medical History Group,
providing detailed information on a county level of the history of
medical
treatments, and locations of some associated buildings .
Return to top of page
Military
War Memorials
- Names from Warwickshire
war
memorials (site disappeared)
Return to top of page
Names, Personal
Name Index to The
History of
Warwickshire by William West (1830), indexed by Ted Wildy:
Copies of email messages containing names and other facts
taken
mainly from old books and contributed by Robert Deloyde and others
here. Most of the
information
has been obtained from the Warwickshire mailing list.
Return to top of page
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc
The Workhouse (by Peter
Higginbotham) covering England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, with history,
locations, pictures, etc.
Return to top of page
Social Life and Customs
Gazetteer
of Markets
and Fairs to 1516 was compiled by Dr Samantha Letters at the
Centre for
Metropolitan History, and is organised by county. It includes a brief
summary of
the early history of many large and small places, with details of
markets and
fairs and the people granted the right to hold them.
Return to top of page
Societies
Return to top of page
Sources
If you are looking for sources of information, these sites will
hlelp
Return to top of page
Towns and Parishes
Return to top of page
Find
help, report problems, and contribute information.
GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only. We do
not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or
completeness of such sites, and in the event of a link to such a site
being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable, our only recourse is to
remove that link.
[Last updated: 1st May 2008 - Peter Abbott]