WILTSHIRE CHURCH RECORDS AND INDEXES
Records
- A detailed guide is the Society of Genealogists'
National Index of Parish Registers . Volume 8,
Part 2: Wiltshire, compiled by Cliff Webb (1992) 114
p. [ISBN 0 946789 52 5] "A Guide to Anglican, Roman
Catholic and Non-Conformist registers, together with
information on Bishop's Transcripts, modern copies and
Marriage licences." This book gives details of the
years covered and location of registers, BTs, copies,
transcripts and indexes.
-
Wiltshire and Swindon Record Office has Christening, Marriage
and Burial Parish Registers and microfilm copies for most
parishes. Note that they also hold much other material
from parish chests, churchwardens' accounts, relief of
the poor, etc. Access
to Archives has an on-line catalogue of most parish
registers in WSRO.
- In some cases early parish registers
have not survived, but Bishop's Transcripts are
available, usually with substantial gaps - it is always
worth looking for both. As an example, Aldbourne PRs
start in 1637. Aldbourne BTs exist for 1607-8, 1615, then
there is a big gap to 1667-1677, 1698, 1707-1728,
1751-1752, 1756-1880. BTs for most parishes have a
similar pattern, occasional years in the early 17th
Century, a gap for the civil war, many more survivals but
still gaps in the early 18th Century, continuous from mid
18th Century.
- Neighbouring record offices
hold some registers for parishes which were once in
Wiltshire - these include Berkshire
Record Office , Bristol
Record Office, Gloucestershire
Record Office , Hampshire
Record Office , and Somerset
Record Office
-
Non-conformist registers held by the National Archives (was Public Record Office),
deposited in 1837, are available on microfilm at Kew -
see
National Archives - Improvements to our services at Kew
- Wiltshire
and Swindon Record Office holdings of Non-Conformist
registers include microfilms of registers in the Public
Record Office, some later registers, and a number of
Quaker registers with an index.
- Wiltshire
and Swindon Record Office has extensive holdings of
Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations. Over 75,500 Sarum
Marriage Licence Bonds for the Diocese of Salisbury have
been transcribed and published by Wiltshire Family
History Society, there is a copy at WSRO and a
microfiche copy at the Society of Genealogists. It is available
for purchase as a CDROM from WFHS.
- Microfilm copies of many parish registers are in the
Family History Library of the Church of Jesus Christ of
Latter-Day Saints; they are listed on-line in the FamilySearch
Family History Library Catalog which is also
available from their Distribution Centres for purchase as
a CDROM. Microfilms can be ordered for viewing at any
Family History Centre of the LDS Church world-wide.
- County
Sources at the Society of Genealogists: Wiltshire is
an on-line listing and is also a book published by the
Society of Genealogists, edited by Neville Taylor (2000),
30 pages, ISBN 1-903462-27-4. It lists microfilms of
original registers, transcripts and indexes, covering
parish registers, non-conformist registers and marriage
licences.
Indexes
There is an index to all marriages up to 1837, several other
marriage indexes and an index to burials for parts of the county,
and a substantial proportion of marriages and christenings are
indexed by the LDS Church. In many cases, coverage is shown
on the relevant GENUKI parish page - see Wiltshire
Towns & Parishes
- Nimrod
Marriage Index is fully complete in one database for
all of Wiltshire as far as surviving documents allow
(about 265,000 marriages, including approx 6000 'stray'
marriages from other counties). Earliest marriages date
from 1538 when parish records began, and the Index goes
up to 1837. Search fee - the whole county can be searched
for one marriage, or all marriages for a surname etc.
- Nimrod
baptism and burial indexes include about half of all
Wiltshire parishes transcribed for baptism and burial
records. There is a search fee, and searches are made
parish by parish. Records also include an index of Quaker
births and deaths (1650 to 1837). They have other indexes.
- The Church of Jesus Christ of
Latter-Day Saints has two major sets of indexes of
registers. The International
Genealogical Index (IGI) covers about 170 Anglican
marriage and baptism registers and about 40
non-conformist registers. It is available free on-line
within FamilySearch,
is available on CDROM at Family
History Centers of the LDS Church and other
libraries, and earlier versions are available on
microfiche. TyeRoots provided a list of Batch Numbers and
Parishes in the IGI, but this website is not available
now. Hugh Wallis has made a comprehensive automated
search across the known ranges of batch numbers, results
sorted by place are in IGI
Batch Numbers for Wiltshire. He also has a Wiltshire
IGI Middle Name index . He says: "I have found
over 4,700 different middle names (some of which are
obvious transcription errors for each other) appearing in
over 13,500 of the christening/birth/adult baptism and
marriage records on the IGI for this region. This is out
of a total of over 310,000 christening/birth/adult
baptism and over 183,000 marriage records (representing
half that number of marriages, of course, since there are
two records in the IGI for each marriage) for these
churches/chapels. This is all of the entries in the IGI
for Wilts that have been extracted as part of the
controlled extraction program."
- The British Vital Records Index (VRI)
(first edition) covered baptisms and marriages for about
100 registers in Wiltshire, and the second edition has more.
It is available for purchase
as inexpensive CDs covering the British Isles, from
Distribution Centers of the LDS Church (contact a Family
History Center to find the one nearest to you) or
order at the FamilySearch
on-line distribution center (choose order/dowload
products, search for 50028000 or Vital Records Index).
Note that the dates we give are generally the first and last years included,
there are gaps, the list of coverage on the second edition CDs indicates the
actual years covered, not just the range. In some cases there are single entries
from years outside the range covered systematically.
The detailed lists
of parishes and dates covered in the BVRI (2nd
edition) are on-line in GENOOT.
Summary
of numbers for all counties
BVRI
Wiltshire births and christenings (pdf file)
BVRI
Wiltshire marriages (pdf file)
These files give very detailed information, with actual
years covered and the number of entries in each period.
- Wiltshire
Family History Society Parish Register Transcripts,
indexed by surname, cover baptisms and burials up to 1837
for about 80 parishes; most are available for purchase as
books or microfiche, some on CD. Baptisms are being published on CD in groups
of parishes. CP1 is 16 parishes south of Swindon, and CP2 is 14 parishes
south & east of Devizes. The 3rd is for Mere and south-west Wiltshire, published
January 2006. The next will be parishes around Castle Combe.
Wiltshire
FHS Non-conformists indexes for purchase on
microfiche cover the Registers deposited with the Public
Record Office in 1837; there are an alphabetical index
for the county, and transcripts in original order. Also
for purchase on microfiche from the Society are indexes
to Dean's
and Bishop's Marriage Licence Bonds , and an index to
Monumental Inscriptions (indexed by surname for the whole
county, and by parish within surname). They also have a CD of confirmations
from books in WSRO covering many parishes. All these are
included in the Wiltshire
FHS search service .
- Tree
Tops have a few Wiltshire Parish Marriage Indexes for
sale on CDROM or fiche. These are now being listed on
C J Genealogical Collections, a collaboration between Carol of Tree Tops
and Julie Goucher of Anglers' Rest.
- National Burial Index (NBI) is
published on CDROM by the Federation
of Family History Societies. Wiltshire Family History
Society is contributing indexes. In most cases the Wilts
FHS transcripts have further information, not included in
the NBI. To obtain this extra information contact Wilts
F.H.S., The Workroom, 10 Castle Lane Devizes, SN10 1JH;
email society@wiltshirefhs.co.uk
. A small charge will be made, payable in U.K. stamps. A
postal address must be given.
FFHS Online site has the National
Burial Index for Wiltshire and the Wiltshire Memorial Inscription Index.
- Pat Wilson of
Wiltshire Index Services is donating her material in April 2006 to the
Society of Genealogists. She
published a CDROM indexing
15,000 Wiltshire marriages, and provides surname
lists searchable free on line for about 50 parishes;
microfiche transcripts of those registers are available
for purchase. Quaker marriages, Wiltshire Monthly Meeting
1657-1837, are included. Added in Jan 2002, for seven
parishes marriages are listed with surname and forenames
of bride and groom, with year of marriage and parish. More parishes
have been added in June 2003.
- Wiltshire
Index Service Burials Index like the Marriage Index in the previous
entry is being donated by Pat Wilson to the
Society of Genealogists.
It covers about 180
parishes. Some are for long periods, e.g. 1566 - 1837,
but about 60 cover 1800 to 1837, and about 20 cover
shorter periods such as 1800 to 1812. About 126,000
burials are included. The index is available as a CDROM
for purchase, or on microfiche for purchase; one fiche is
a surname index showing the parishes in which the surname
appears.
- Wiltshire Parish Registers:
Marriages were un-indexed transcripts published by
Phillimore as 14 volumes in 1905-1914 and cover 75
parishes. They are available in major genealogy
libraries. S&N
Wiltshire Data CDs of Phillimore Marriages are for
sale with full indexes by name to a facsimile of the
original printed books.
- Boyd's Marriage Index at
the Society of Genealogists includes 73 Wiltshire
parishes, but for limited periods before 1700, mostly
1651-1675. Pallot's Index
at the Institute for Historical and Genealogical Studies
covers 85 parishes, mainly 1790-1812 or 1790-1837. The
parishes and years of coverage for Boyd's and Pallot's
are listed in the book The Phillimore Atlas and Index
of Parish Registers, edited by C R Humphery-Smith,
Phillimore 1995.
- White
Horse Baptism Index includes over
100,000 baptisms in about 70 parishes around Devizes and
the Vale of Pewsey.
- Information of the location of Quaker
Records in Wiltshire is provided by the Quaker FHS. See also "The Ring" above for Quaker
marriages.
Find
help, report problems, or contribute information.
Last updated: 9 Aug 2008 by David Hawgood