East Witton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish in the wapentake of Hang West; 2 miles from Middleham, 4 from
Leyburn, 8 from Masham, 41 from York. The Church, a handsome modern
structure, built by the Earl of Ailesbury in 1809, is a vicarage, dedicated to St.
Ella, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester. East Witton is divided
into two townships, called East Witton parish within, and East Witton parish
without; population of the former being 444, and the latter, 303.
Deposited Registers (NYRO)
- Baptisms: 1670-1769, 1813-1857
- Marriages: 1670-1837
- Burials: 1670-1769, 1813-1955
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1663, 1674, 1678, 1680, 1681, 1687, 1689-1691, 1693, 1694, 1696,1697*, 1698, 1699, 1701-1706, 1708, 1710-1713, 1715-1718, 1721, 1723,
1725-1728, 1730-1768, 1770-1795, 1797-1842, 1844-1847, (all at WYAS,
Leeds).
* Filed with Glebe Terriers at Chester R.O. Ref: CD/RG-66.
IGI Coverage:
- C 1663-1750, 1751-1847;
- M 1663-1750, 1751-1836
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1664-1837; M 1671-1837; B 1670-1837; TNI; NYRO
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]