Halifax parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish and market town, in Morley division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty
of Wakefield; 8 miles from Bradford and Huddersfield, 10 from Dewsbury, 12
from Keighley and Todmorden, 16½ from Rochdale (Lancs), 18 from Leeds,
42 from York, 197 from London. Population, including St. James and Holy
Trinity 12,628. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, in
the deanery of Pontefract.
Deposited Registers (WYAS, Wakefield)
- Baptisms: 1538-1977
- Marriages: 1538-1981
- Burials: 1538-1937
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1600, 1601, 1604, 1626-1628, 1631-1640, 1661-1673, 1675, 1676,1683-1685, 1688, 1689, 1691, 1693-1718, 1720-1777, 1780-1786, 1788,
1790-1846, (1847-1869, 1871-1879*)
* At WYAS, Leeds
IGI Coverage:
- C 1538-1593, 1720-1847;
- M 1538-1593, 1720-1800, 1800-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1538-1541; TNI; In the parish magazine; BIHR
- CMB 1541-1542; TNI; "Yorkshire Notes and Queries", Vol 2; BIHR
- CMB 1543-1593; TNI; "Yorkshire County Magazine"; SOG
- C 1538-1593; PTI; YPRS 37; YAS, BIHR
- C 1813-1832, 4 vols; TI; CFHS
- MB 1538-1593; PTI; YPRS 45; YAS, BIHR
- M 1538-1593; TI; BMI; SOG, YCL
- M 1754-1837, 29 vols; TI; CFHS
- B 1813-1834, 2 vols; TI; CFHS
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]