|
|
Wales |
|
Contents |
|
Denbighshire Towns & Parishes |
|
Information related to all of Denbighshire |
"The County of DENBIGH is 116 Miles in Circumference, contains about 410000 Acres. Tis divided into 12 Hundreds in which are contained 4 Market Towns & only one Borough Town [viz. Denbigh], 57 Parishes & about 6398 Houses. The Air is good but sharp, & ye soil Hilly, intermixed with fruitfull valleys, that of Clwyd is the Cheif, well inhabited by Gentry. The Western parts are healthy but improved with ye Ashes of Turf. Here is plenty of Rye or Corn, Goats & Sheep, & good quantity of Lead Oar in several parts of this County"
[Emanuel Bowen, Britannia Depicta, 1720]
The historic county of Denbighshire was abolished in the controversial re-organisation of 1974, and was absorbed into the newly created county of Clwyd.
Ironically, the county of Clwyd was itself abolished on 31st March 1996, after a brief existence of twenty-two years. At the same time, four new "unitary" authorities were created. These were given the names: Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham County Borough and Conwy County Borough.
It is important to realise that the boundaries of the "new" Denbighshire and Flintshire are considerably different from those of the historic counties of the same names.
Fortunately, family historians have been little affected by these changes; because throughout the short lifetime of the county of Clwyd, records for historic Denbighshire remained at the Ruthin branch of the Clwyd Record Office, while records for historic Flintshire remained at the Hawarden branch. These two offices have now become the county Record Offices for "new" Denbighshire and "new" Flintshire respectively. The County Archivists have stated that they do not expect that there will be any major movement of records between the two Record Offices.
In these GENUKI pages, all references to Denbighshire (unless specifically stated otherwise) apply to the historic (pre-1974) county - i.e. Chapman County Code DEN.
|
Denbighshire Record Office,
Ruthin Gaol,
46 Clwyd Street,
Ruthin,
Denbighshire.
LL15 1HP.
Tel: 01824 708250
E-mail: archives@denbighshire.gov.uk
Some records relating to Denbighshire may also be found at the following locations:
| Flintshire Record Office / Archifdy Sir y Fflint The Old Rectory, Hawarden, Flintshire. CH5 3NR Tel: 01244 532364 E-mail: archives@flintshire.gov.uk |
A.N. Palmer Centre for Local
Studies and Archives, Wrexham Museum, Regent Street, Wrexham. LL11 1RB. Tel: 01978 317973. E-mail: localstudies@wrexham.gov.uk Opening times: Mon, Wed- Fri 10-5; Tues 10-7; Sat 10.30-3. |
Conwy Archive Access Point, Llandudno Library, Mostyn Street, Llandudno, Conwy. LL30 2RS Tel: 01492 574010/20 E-mail: llyfr.lib.llandudno@conwy.gov.uk |
Conwy Archive Access Point, Colwyn Bay Library, Woodland Road West, Colwyn Bay, Conwy. LL29 7DH Tel: 01492 532358 E-mail: llyfr.lib.baecolwynbay@conwy.gov.uk |
|
National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion. SY23 3BU Tel: 01970 632880 Email: ymh.lc@llgc.org.uk |
Because of this, the Parochial Registers and Records Measure of 1978, regarding the care of parish records of the Church of England, does not apply to Wales.
However - in 1944, the Representative Body of the Church in Wales showed considerable foresight, by making an agreement with the National Library of Wales whereby various Church records would be deposited in the Library; and in 1976, the Representative Body reached an agreement with the majority of the Welsh counties, which designated the county Record Offices as additional suitable repositories. The Archbishop of Wales issued instructions as to which records should be deposited, and appointed Diocesan Advisors to ensure that his instructions were followed. Virtually all parish registers for Denbighshire (with the obvious exception of those in current use), together with various other records, have now been deposited in Denbighshire Record Office and/or the National Library of Wales.
Members of the public are not normally allowed to handle the original registers. The policy of the Denbighshire Record Office is to microfilm the registers on receipt; and members of the public are expected to use copies of these microfilms, rather than the original registers, in the Record Office searchrooms.
Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions, with indexes, of all the parish registers of Denbighshire, up to 1812 (and in a few cases, up to 1837 and beyond). Copies of all the transcribed parish registers published by Clwyd FHS are available for study at the Denbighshire Record Office.
Here are the addresses, telephone numbers, opening hours, etc. of the present-day Registration Districts which cover north-east Wales.
North Wales BMD is an on-going project which aims to provide an easy search facility via the Internet for births, marriages and deaths recorded in the North Wales Register Offices between 1837 and 1950; and to enable researchers to order copies of the certificates from the local Register Offices.
See also the Parish pages - there is Civil Registration information on each Parish page.
For searching "further afield", Brett Langston has provided details of all the Registration Districts of England and Wales, from 1837 to 1946; and Peter Abbott has provided the addresses of the present-day English and Welsh Register Offices.
Barbara Dixon (who is a Superintendent Registrar) has compiled an excellent Tutorial about Birth, Marriage and Death Certificates in England and Wales.
(Note - you will leave the "GENUKI environment" when you link to this Tutorial).
When ordering certificates from a Superintendent Registrar, please note the following:
Graham Jaunay's Welsh Names Research Directory covers this county.
John Fuller has provided full details of
CLWYD, the Genealogy Mailing List
serving Denbighshire, Flintshire and the Edeyrnion district of Merionethshire.
This is but a small part of the data available on the
"Genealogy Resources on
the Internet" pages maintained by John and Chris Gaunt.
| Name of Newspaper | Years covered |
|---|---|
| Abergele & Pensarn Visitor | 1869 - 1903 1909 - 1920 |
| Adams Weekly Courant | 1733 - 1793 (incomplete coverage) |
| Baner ac Amserau Cymru | 1857 - 1877 1886 - 1890 |
| Carnarvon (sic) & Denbigh Herald | 1831 - 1882 |
| Chester Chronicle | 1943 - 1982 |
| Colwyn Bay Weekly News (became North Wales Weekly News) |
1889 - 1981 |
| Denbighshire Free Press | 1882 - 1925, 1931, 1942, 1947 |
| Llangollen Advertiser | 1869 - 1896 |
| North Wales Times | 1895, 1896, 1898 - 1921 |
| Rhos Herald | 1894 - 1909 |
| Wrexham Advertiser | 1856 - 1880 (not 1864) |
| Wrexham Guardian | 1869 - 1884 |
| Wrexham Leader | 1940 - 1945 |
The list below reflects the Church in Wales (Anglican) structure in historic (pre-1974) Denbighshire - this is the format which is recognised by the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales; and by the two reference works "Parish Registers of Wales" and "Parish Registers of Clwyd". In general, "daughter" or "district" churches have not been included in the list unless it is known that they maintained separate registers from those of the parish church. Where applicable, details of the nineteenth century and early twentieth century restructuring of each parish have been given.
Historically, the (Anglican) Church in Wales was an integral part of the Church of England - i.e. the "Established" Church. During the nineteenth century, the number of Anglican churches in the diocese of St. Asaph (which includes Denbighshire) rose from 151 to 326. Many new churches were built, and even more were "restored" - which was often a euphemism for partial or total demolition, followed by rebuilding. Some of the new churches remained as district churches or chapelries within their existing parish; but in the majority of cases, the ancient parishes were drastically restructured to create new parishes centred around the new churches.
In general, this reorganisation had more or less run its course in Denbighshire by the end of the nineteenth century; although in the industrialised areas around Wrexham it continued into the twentieth century.
Despite this wave of new church-building, the influence of the Anglican Church continued to decline; and in 1920 it officially ceased to be the "State" or "Established" Church within Wales. By that time, at least half of the people of Denbighshire had become "adherents" of the various nonconformist denominations; and it is therefore important to note that information about the nonconformist half of the population is not likely to be found in the Anglican parish registers.
Information about nonconformist chapels has been extracted from "The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for the year ending December 31st, 1905", which was submitted to the Welsh Church Commission. As far as possible, the information has been shown on the parish page(s) appropriate to the locations of the chapels.
Unfortunately, only a relatively small number of nonconformist records have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales - it is hoped to include a list of these records, with permission, at a later date.
|
|
|
|
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes; and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. |