Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Caernarvonshire Bishop's Transcripts

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Caernarvonshire Bishop's Transcripts

Bishop's Transcripts are available to view at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. Many Gwynedd Family History Society (GFHS) publications incorporate information from BT records to fill years missing from parish registers. 

The table below shows the range of years available for each parish:

Parish

Years available:

Aberdaron

1678-80, 1682-3, 1685-6, 1688-90, 1700-1, 1704-6, 1709-11, 1714-1716, 1719-1740, 1742-6, 1748-66, 1768-1780, 1782-1855, 1857-8, 1860, 1862-4, 1890-1

Abererch

1677, 1679-81, 1683, 1685-6, 1688, 1690-3, 1695-1723, 1726-40, 1742, 1744-6, 1748-1865, 1867-75

Aber(gwyngregyn)

1676-82, 1687, 1689-1701, 1703-5, 1707-25, 1727-74, 1777-80, 1782-91, 1793-1854, 1883, 1888-1900

Bangor

1727-8, 1740-8, 1750-2, 1754, 1756, 1758-9, 1761-2, 1764-6, 1777-91, 1793-1850, 1859-61

Beddgelert

1676-80, 1683-6, 1688-90, 1692, 1695-1700, 1702-5, 1708-13, 1715-17, 1720-5, 1727-8, 1730-8, 1740, 1742-3, 1745-50, 1752, 1754-1866, 1882-97

Betws Garmon

1676-9, 1681-3, 1686-7, 1689-92, 1704-12, 1714, 1716-18, 1720-4, 1726-7, 1729-53, 1755-80, 1782-91, 1793-1867, 1872-3, 1880-9, 1896-7

Some records under Llanfair is Gaer

Betws-y-Coed

1679, 1689-1701, 1703, 1705, 1707-38, 1740-80, 1782-91, 1793-1858

Bodferin

No BT, some records under Aberdaron

Bodfean See also Nefyn

1677-83, 1685-6, 1688-92, 1695, 1697-1709, 1711-22, 1724-40, 1742-3, 1745-6, 1748-64, 1766-1865, 1867-85, 1887

Bottwnog

1679-81, 1686-9, 1693, 1695-7, 1699-1702, 1704-12, 1714-19, 1721-6, 1729-46, 1748-74, 1776-80, 1782-1865, 1867-87, 1890-2, 1895-8

Bryncroes

1679, 1682, 1684-6, 1689-90, 1695-7, 1699-1701, 1704-5, 1707-35, 1738-9, 1742-6, 1747 or 1748, 1749-1761, 1763, 1765-1780, 1782-1868, 1905-1906. 

Caerhun

1676-1679, 1681, 1683, 1687, 1689-1701, 1703-1723, 1725-1743, 1745-1774, 1776-1791, 1793-1861, 1863-1871, 1873-1882, 1893-1895

Caernarfon (part of Llanbeblig)

See Llanbeblig

Carngiwch/Carnguwch (see also Pistyll and Edern)

1692, 1695-1699, 1702-1706, 1709, 1711-1716 (under Pistyll), 1718, 1719 (under Pistyll), 1720, 1721 (under Pistyll), 1722-1727, 1729, 1730, 1731, 1733, 1735-1738, 1740-1742, 1744-1755, 1756 (under Pistyll), 1757-1769, 1771-1811, 1813-1817, 1819-1838, 1840-1853, 1855-1868, 1878-1888, 1889-1892 (under Edern), 1893-1895, 1896-1898 (under Edern), 1901 (under Edern)

Ceidio

1790, 1813, 1842, 1844-1846, 1848-1850, 1855-1856, 1860-1866, 1868-1872, 1875-1885, 1887-1889, 1906

Clynnog Fawr

1689-99, 1701-35, 1737-9, 1742-74, 1776-80, 1782-6, 1788-90, 1792-1865, 1867-85, 1887-95

Conway (Conwy)

1678, 1690(?), 1691-3, 1695-1701, 1703-27, 1729-43, 1745-74, 1776-80, 1782-91, 1793-1868, 1882-3

Criccieth

1677, 1687-92, 1695-7, 1700-2, 1705-38, 1740-6, 1748-85, 1788-1885

Denio/Deneio (includes Pwllheli). See also Llannor

1677-1679, 1680-1681 (Under Llannor), 1682, 1685, 1686 (under Llannor), 1689, 1691, 1692 (under Llannor), 1695, 1697-1698, 1700, 1702-1704, 1705-1722, 1725-1735, 1738, 1742-1743, 1745, 1749-1752, 1755-1759, 1761-1776, 1778-1862, 1882, 1885

Dolbenmaen. See also Penmorfa

1679, 1683, 1686 (Under Penmorfa), 1688-1693, 1695-1697, 1699-1703, 1705-1706, 1707?, 1708-1718, 1720-1740, 1742-1743, 1745-1746, 1748-1757, 1758-1766 (under Penmorfa), 1767-1782, 1784-1886, 1901

Dolwyddelan

1680, 1684, 1686, 1689-1693, 1695-1699, 1701, 1703-1705, 1708-1711, 1713-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1839, 1841-1882

Dwygyfylchi*

1678-1681, 1683, 1686, 1690-1695, 1697-1701, 1703-1705, 1707-1710, 1712-1713, 1715-1735, 1737, 1740-1748, 1750-1757, 1759-1761, 1763-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1797, 1799-1854, 1856-1857, 1859-1861, 1863-1871, 1882-1884, 1910

Edeyrn/Edern/Llanedern

1680-2, 1684-6, 1688-93, 1695, 1697, 1699-1723, 1725-46, 1748-66, 1768-1865, 1867-8, 1877-98, 1901

Eglwys Fach / Maenan Abbey

See Denbighshire – sometimes noted as Caernarvonshire (1666-71; 1675-84; 1687-88; 1690-91; 1693-94; 1696-97; 1699-1717; 1719-1844; 1846-50)

Eglwys Rhos

1668-69; 1673-79; 1681-83; 1687-96; 1698-1847

Gyffin

1677-1679, 1683, 1691-1695, 1697-1701, 1703-1743, 1745-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1864

Llanfaelrhys

1677?, 1678, 1680, 1681?, 1683, 1689, 1695, 1700, 1704-1705, 1712, 1716, 1718, 1721-1722?, 1724-1726, 1728-1737, 1739-1740, 1743-1744, 1748-1766, 1768-1780, 1782-1787, 1789-1865, 1867-1870, 1872-187

Llannor

1677-1678, 1680-1683, 1685-1686, 1692, 1695-1696, 1698, 1700-1726, 1727?, 1729, 1731-1733, 1735, 1737-1740, 1742-1743, 1745, 1750, 1755-1773, 1775-1780, 1782-1862, 1883-1885

Llanaelhaiarn/ Llanaelhaearn

1676, 1679-1680, 1683, 1688-1689, 1692-1701, 1704-1705, 1707-1721, 1723-1726, 1728-1735, 1738-1743, 1745-1791, 1793-1842, 1845-1869

Llanarmon

1677-1679, 1681-1683, 1685-1686, 1688-1692, 1695, 1697-1740, 1742-1746, 1748-1780, 1782-1884

Llanbeblig

1678-9, 1683, 1689-1701, 1703-5, 1707-1886

Some entries found under Waunfawr

Llanbedr y Cennin

1676-1677, 1680?, 1681, 1687, 1689-1713, 1715-1743, 1745-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1849, 1851-1854, 1856-1886, 1913

Llanbedrog

1680, 1697-1724, 1726-1729, 1730?, 1731-1737, 1739-1740, 1742-1746, 1748-1865, 1867-1885, 1887-1890, 1893-1899

Llanberis

1677-1678, 1681-1683, 1689-1693, 1695-1701, 1703-1744, 1745-1791, 1793-1840, 1842-1851, 1854-1860, 1862-1867, 1889-1890, 1892, 1894-1897

Llanddeiniolen

1676-1683, 1687, 1689-1701, 1703-1717, 1719-1743, 1745-1774, 1776-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1883

Llandegai/ Llandygái

1677-1680, 1682-1684, 1689-1701, 1703, 1705, 1708-1715, 1717-1740, 1743-1747, 1749-1791, 1793-1889, 1891-1892, 1901-1915.

Capel St Ann : 1813, 1817-1819, 1822-1828, 1874-1883

Llandrillo yn Rhos

1663; 1672-74; 1681-82; ?1688; 1691-92; 1700-01; 1704-06; ?1707-08; 1712-13; 1713-1835; 1837-1838

Llandudno

1677, 1680-1681, 1689-1701, 1703-1708, 1711-1720, 1722-1727, 1729-1761, 1763-1775, 1777-1780, 1781?, 1782-1791, 1793-1901

Llandudwen See Rhiw

1875-1877, 1879-1881, 1883-1887, 1889, 1906

Llandwrog

1676-1677, 1681, 1683-1684, 1687, 1689-1701, 1703-1743, 1745?, 1746-1765, 1767-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1855, 1860-1872, 1874, 1882

Capel St. Thomas : 1856-1875

Llanengan

1677-1680, 1682-1683, 1687, 1689-1691, 1695-1697, 1698-1699, 1700, 1701-1735, 1737-1746, 1748-1780, 1782-1885, 1887-1892, 1894-1896

Llanfaglan

1676?, 1677-1679, 1681-1683, 1687, 1689-1701, 1703-1705, 1708-1714, 1716-1750, 1752, 1754-1757, 1759-1774, 1776-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1878, 1881-1913

Llanfairfechan

1676-1680, 1682-1684, 1686-1687, 1689-1701, 1703-1711, 1713-1717, 1719-1734, 1736-1757, 1759-1787, 1789-1791, 1793-1898

Llanfair Is Gaer

1677-1683, 1686, 1689-1692, 1696-1701, 1704-1718, 1720-1726, 1729-1752, 1754-1780, 1782-1788, 1790-1791, 1793-1803, 1805-1888

Llanfihangel Bachellaeth See also Llanbedrog

1693-1721, 1723-1734, 1736, 1737-1740, 1742-1743, 1745-1746, 1748, 1750-1780, 1782-1812, 1813-1815 (Under Llanbedrog), 1816-1836, 1838-1885, 1887-1890, 1897-1898. 

Llanfihangel y Pennant

1676, 1678-1680, 1683, 1688-1692, 1695-1697, 1699-1705, 1707-1735, 1737-1746, 1748-1765, 1767-1885, 1888-1896, 1901, 1905-1906

(parish in Dolbenmaen) – not to be confused with the village in Meirionnydd)

Llangelynnin

1681, 1683, 1687, 1689-1701, 1703-1718, 1720-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1860, 1862-1864, 1866.

(again, not to be confused with Llangellynnin in Meirionnydd)

Llangian See also Llanbedrog

1679, 1681-1682, 1685-1686, 1690-1692, 1695-1727, 1728, 1729-1732, 1734-1735, 1737-1740, 1743, 1745-1746, 1748-1773, 1775-1780, 1782-1812, 1813-1815 (Under Llanbedrog), 1816-1873, 1875-1883, 1885-1889, 1897-1901

Llangwnnadl/ Llangwnadle

1677-1678, 1680-1682, 1689-1690, 1692-1693, 1695-1705, 1707-1735, 1738, 1745, 1749-1760, 1763-1771, 1773-1776, 1778-1788, 1790-1868, 1873-1874. 

Llangwstennin/ Llangystennin

1674-5, 1677-81, 1684-96, 1698-1708, 1710-12, 1717, 1722-7, 1729-31, 1733-1843, 1850

Llangybi

1678, 1682-1683, 1685-1686, 1688-1690, 1692, 1697-1706, 1708-1734, 1737-1746, 1748-1780, 1782, 1784-1865, 1867-1881

Llaniestyn

1676-1677, 1679-1683, 1685-1686, 1695-1698, 1700-1725, 1727-1731, 1734-1735, 1737-1743, 1745-1746, 1748-1759, 1761-1864, 1866-1870

Not to be confused with Llaniestyn on Anglesey

Llanllechid

1677, 1682, 1690-1701, 1703-1723, 1725-1780, 1782-1787, 1789-1791, 1793-1855, 1864-1865, 1885-1888

Llanllyfni

1679, 1681-1683, 1689-1697, 1698?, 1699-1701, 1703-1705, 1707-1738, 1740-1743, 1746-1774, 1776-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1859, 1863-1864, 1882, 1887-1888.

Llanrhychwyn See also Trefriw

1667, 1676, 1679-1680, 1682-1683, 1687, 1689, 1693-1694, 1695-1696 (Under Trefriw), 1704?, 1705-1710, 1712-1724, 1727-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1858

Llanrug

1678-1681, 1684, 1687, 1689-1701, 1704-1705, 1707-1708, 1711-1739, 1741-1742, 1744-1774, 1776-1780, 1782-1787, 1789-1791, 1793-1867, 1869-1874, 1883-1900

Llanrwst

See Denbighshire

1665-66; 1670-76; 1678-80; 1683-85; 1691-92; 1694-1902; 1705-17; ?1718-20; 1721-27; ?1728-29; 1730-1855; 1867-77

Llanwnda

1676-1678, 1681, 1683, 1687, 1689-1692, 1694-1699, 1701, 1703-1705, 1708-1727, 1729-1780, 1783-1791, 1793-1809, 1811-1878, 1881-1913

Llanystumdwy

1676-1678, 1680-1683, 1685-1686, 1688-1691, 1693, 1696-1698, 1700, 1702, 1704-1722, 1725-1733, 1735, 1737-1746, 1748-1773, 1775-1780, 1782-1864, 1867, 1872-1885

Llysfaen

1662-76; 1678-92; 1694-1705; ?1705-06; 1707-16; 1718-80; 1782, 1783-1844

Myllteyrn/ Mellteyrn

1677, 1679, 1681, 1688-1691, 1693, 1695-1696, 1699-1704, 1706-1712, 1714-1716, 1718-1719, 1721-1746, 1748-1773, 1775, 1777-1865, 1867-1882, 1884-1887, 1890-1892, 1895-1897

Nefyn

1678-1683, 1685-1686, 1688-1692, 1695-1698, 1700-1727, 1729-1738, 1741-1743, 1745-1746, 1748-1761, 1763-1775, 1777, 1779, 1781-1865, 1867, 1889-1890, 1894-1895

Penllech

1676-1679, 1681-1682, 1689, 1690 (Under Llangwnnadl), 1691-1693, 1695-1705, 1707-1721, 1723-1730, 1732-1738, 1740, 1742-1746, 1748-1751, 1752-?, 1753-1765, 1767-1865, 1867-1884

Penmachno

1692-1693, 1695-1697, 1701, 1703, 1705, 1714-1721, 1723-1743, 1745-1780, 1782-1783, 1785-1791, 1793-1861, 1872, 1875-1882, 1888-1898

Penmorfa

1676-1677, 1679-1681, 1683, 1686-1692, 1695, 1697, 1701-1735, 1737-1740, 1742-1743, 1745-1746, 1748-1782, 1784-1803, 1805-1886, 190

Penrhos See also Abererch

1815, 1818-81, 1883, 1885

Pistyll

1680, 1682, 1685-6, 1695-1725, 1727-43, 1745-6, 1748-1822, 1824-65, 1867-9, 1877-98, 1901

Rhiw

1676, 1679, 1681-1683, 1685, 1689-1690, 1692, 1696, 1699-1703, 1705, 1708-1727, 1730-1731, 1733-1735, 1737-1746, 1748-1780, 1782-1885

Treflys

1705, 1707-35, 1737-40, 1742-6, 1749, 1751-7, 1759-80, 1782-7, 1789-90, 1792-3, 1795-1861, 1863-82, 1884-5

Trefriw

1679-1681, 1683, 1687, 1689-1690, 1705-1710, 1712-1724, 1726-1780, 1782-1791, 1793-1858

Tydweiliog/ Tudweiliog See Llangwnnadl

1690 (Under Llangwnnadl), 1698, 1701, 1704, 1710-1713, 1717-1719, 1721-1725, 1727-1736, 1738-1739, 1741, 1744-1746, 1749-1773, 1775-1788, 1790-1885, 1887-1894

Ynys Cynhaiarn/ Ynyscynhaearn

1692, 1696, 1698, 1702, 1704-1746, 1748-1752, 1754-1865, 1867-1868, 1870, 1885-1892

Yspytty/Ysbyty Evan/Ifan

See Denbighshire

1677, 1679-86, 1688-91, 1695-6, 1698-1700, 1703, 1714, 1725-6, 1729-30, 1732-7, 1739-43, 1745, 1747-1804, 1806-51

*Dwygyfylchi Parish Records prior to 1813 are missing. The BT records are particularly useful in this case.

List complied by Tomos Owen(2018)