Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Administrative Areas of the Republic of Ireland

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Administrative Areas of the Republic of Ireland

Following the Government of Ireland Act 1920, 26 of Ireland's 32 counties left the United Kingdom and formed the Irish Free State. In 1949 this became the Republic of Ireland.

Province CCC County CCC Centre
Connaught CNN Galway GAL Galway
Leitrim LET Carrick-on-Shannon
Mayo MAY Castlebar
Roscommon ROS Roscommon
Sligo SLI Sligo
Leinster LEN Carlow CAR Carlow
Dublin DUB Dublin
Kildare KID Naas
Kilkenny KIK Kilkenny
King's County / Offaly (1) OFF Tullamore
Longford LOG Longford
Louth LOU Dundalk
Meath MEA Navan (2)
Queen's County / Laois (3) LEX Portlaoise
Westmeath WEM Mullingar
Wexford WEX Wexford
Wicklow WIC Wicklow
Munster MUN Clare CLA Ennis
Cork COR Cork
Kerry KER Tralee
Limerick LIM Limerick
Tipperary TIP Clonmel
Waterford WAT Waterford
Ulster (4) UIE Cavan CAV Cavan
Donegal DON Lifford
Monaghan MOG Monaghan


  1. The name "King's County" (or simply "King's") was changed to "Offaly" in 1921.
  2. Also known as "An Uaimh".
  3. The name "Queen's County" (or simply "Queen's") was changed to "Laois" in 1921. It is sometimes spelt "Laoighis" and is also known as "Leix".
  4. The six counties of Northern Ireland are also part of the Province of Ulster.

© GENUKI and Contributors 1993, 1997

Page created by Phil Lloyd in January 1993. Revised and updated in September 1997 by Brian Pears.