Administrative Areas of Scotland


The first table below shows the historic counties and their administrative sub-divisions before the first round of changes and lists the successor regions for each, that is the post-change regions which contain some or all of the original county area. The second table shows the regions after the first round of changes and lists their successor unitary authorities. In all cases only the top-tier authority is shown - either the top-tier in a two-tier arrangement or a single tier authority (shown italicised).

The tables also show the Chapman County Codes (CCC) for each county and region. These are unique 3 letter codes.

For a brief description of the administrative changes in the United Kingdom see - Local Government Changes in the United Kingdom.

The following abbreviations are used in these tables:

(C) County of a City
(U) Unitary Authority

Single-tier local authorities are shown italicised.

The links in the following table are to outline maps showing the location of each county.

Scotland - changes of 1975
Historic County CCC Administration until 1975 Successor Regions
Aberdeenshire ABD Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen (C)
Angus (1) ANS Angus
Dundee (C)
Argyllshire (2) ARL Argyllshire Strathclyde
Ayrshire AYR Ayrshire Strathclyde
Banffshire BAN Banffshire Grampian
Berwickshire BEW Berwickshire Borders
Bute (3) BUT Bute Strathclyde
Caithness CAI Caithness Highland
Clackmannanshire CLK Clackmannanshire Central
Dunbartonshire DNB Dunbartonshire Strathclyde
Dumfriesshire DFS Dumfriesshire Dumfries and Galloway
East Lothian ELN East Lothian Lothian
Fife FIF Fife Fife
Inverness-shire (4) INV Inverness-shire Highland
Western Isles
Kincardineshire KCD Kincardineshire Grampian
Kinross-shire KRS Kinross-shire Tayside
Kirkcudbrightshire KKD Kirkcudbrightshire Dumfries and Galloway
Lanarkshire LKS Lanarkshire
Glasgow (C)
Midlothian MLN Midlothian
Edinburgh (C)
Moray MOR Moray Grampian
Nairnshire NAI Nairnshire Highland
Orkney (5) OKI Orkney Orkney
Peeblesshire PEE Peeblesshire Borders
Perthshire PER Perthshire Tayside
Renfrewshire RFW Renfrewshire Strathclyde
Ross and Cromarty (6) ROC Ross and Cromarty Highland
Western Isles
Roxburghshire ROX Roxburghshire Borders
Selkirkshire SEL Selkirkshire Borders
Shetland (7) SHI Shetland Shetland
Stirlingshire STI Stirlingshire Central
Sutherland SUT Sutherland Highland
West Lothian WLN West Lothian Lothian
Wigtownshire WIG Wigtownshire Dumfries and Galloway


Scotland - changes of 1996
Administration 1975-1996 CCC Successor Unitary Authorities
Borders BOR The Scottish Borders (U)
Central CEN Clackmannanshire (U)
Falkirk (U)
Stirling (U)
Dumfries and Galloway DGY Dumfries and Galloway (U)
Fife FIF Fife (U)
Grampian GMP Aberdeenshire (U)
Aberdeen City (U)
Moray (U)
Highland (8) HLD Highland (U)
Lothian LTN City of Edinburgh (U)
East Lothian (U)
Midlothian (U)
West Lothian (U)
Orkney (5) OKI Orkney Islands (U)
Shetland (7) SHI Shetland Islands (U)
Strathclyde (9) STD Argyll and Bute (U)
City of Glasgow (U)
East Ayrshire (U)
East Dunbartonshire (U)
East Renfrewshire (U)
Inverclyde (U)
North Ayrshire (U)
North Lanarkshire (U)
Renfrewshire (U)
South Ayrshire (U)
South Lanarkshire (U)
West Dunbartonshire (U)
Tayside TAY Angus (U)
Dundee City (U)
Perth and Kinross (U)
Western Isles (10) WIS Western Isles (U)


  1. An old name for Angus is "Forfarshire".
  2. Includes islands: Islay, Jura and Mull.
  3. Consists of islands Arran and Bute.
  4. Includes islands: Lewis (part), North Uist, South Uist, and Skye.
  5. Also "Orkney Isles", or "Orkney Islands", but NOT "The Orkneys"!
  6. Includes part of the island of Lewis.
  7. Also "Shetland Isles", or "Shetland Islands", but NOT "The Shetlands"! Originally known as "Zetland".
  8. Includes the island of Skye.
  9. Includes islands: Arran, Bute, Islay, Jura and Mull.
  10. Includes islands: Lewis, North Uist and South Uist.

© GENUKI and Contributors 1993, 1997

Page created by Phil Lloyd in January 1993. Revised and updated in September 1997 by Brian Pears.