Vicars of the Parish Church of St. James the Great, Aston Abbotts


In 1847 George Lipscomb in his "The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham" listed the following vicars for Aston Abbotts:

1325 Walter de Gratteworth, or Gruttleworth
1344 Richard de Streatley
1430 William
1490 Gilbert Stapilton (this date refers to the year he died)
1490 Thomas Crofton
1534 Robert Howys, or Hewes
1554 Robert Chaloner
1581 Thomas Blanchard B.D.
1595 Hugh Whitacres, or Whittakers
1622 Robert Hitchcock S.T.B.
1673 Roger Hitchcock A.M.
1705 Samuel Spateman
1727 The Hon. William Carmichael LL.D.
1753 Richard Penn
1759 John Hotham A.B.
1767 Potts Davies
1777 William Powell
1790 Joseph Smith
1802 The Hon. Thomas de Grey
1804 Philip Stanhope Smelt A.M.
1809 Philip Thistlethwayte Strong A.M.
1810 Charles Smelt A.M.
1823 Philip Strong A.M.