Abbesses of Burnham Abbey


In 1847 George Lipscomb in his "The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham" listed the following abbesses for Burnham Abbey:

1265 Margery de Eston
1273 Maud de Dorkcester
1274 Joane de Bedeware
1314 Idonea de Audeley
1324 Joane de Somerville
1339 Joane de Louthe
1339 Joane de Dorney
1340 Margery Louthe, or Louch
---- Joane Turner
1367 Agnes Franklyn
1393 Elizabeth Ward
1399 Alice Golafre
1457 Agnes Gower
1459 Agnes Sturdy
---- Joane Radcliffe
1507 Margaret Gibson
1536 Alice Baldwin, the last abbess who surrendered Burnham Abbey