Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Vicars of Chesham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Vicars of Chesham

In 1847 George Lipscomb in his "The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham" listed the following Vicars for the two Rectorial Manors in Chesham:

Vicars of Chesham Woburn

12-- Richard Bedford
1300 Henry de Studham
1332 John Prote
1334 Adam de Queldrick
13-- John de Woburn
1358 Henry de Withington
---- Robert Wickham
1402 John Stanton
1440 John Goutham
1482 Thomas Gourton
1485 Ralph Mercot
1492 Robert Nixon, or Nickson
---- Laurence Corby
1519 John Sloe
1557 John Peryn
1559 John Smith
1572 John Barker
1601 William Sanders, A.M.
1607 Richard Woodcock
1623 Thomas Blechingden
1626 Elkenah Gladman
1666 Charles Walmisley
1676 William Hay, A.M.
1711 John Ball
1750 John Ball, A.M.

Vicars of Chesham Leicester

---- Jeffry Fauconer
1323 Robert Pain
13-- Robert de Barnesley
1343 Ralph de Keslyngton
13-- Roger ------
1355 Richard de Carleton
---- Thomas Joy
1404 John Woodward
1407 Robert Woodclerke
1417 Robert Ywardby
14-- John Carlton, or Garton
1431 Richard Monk
143- William Monk
1434 Thomas Spencer
14-- Thomas Belle
1465 John Mayot
1482 Thomas Cotton
1488 John Hardy
1492 Christopher Rudde
1527 William Daniel
1559 John Smith
1586 William Sanders
1607 Richard Woodcock, B.D.
1623 Adam Langley
16-- Elkenah Gladman
1660 Charles Walmisley
1676 William Hay, A.M.
1711 John Ball
1750 John Bull, A.M.
1767 Edward Emily, Clk. A.M.
1826 The Honourable Mr. Stanhope