Drayton Beauchamp

"Drayton Beauchamp, six miles from Aylesbury, and two from Tring, in Hertfordshire, is situated near the course of the turnpike-road from London, on the eastern verge of Buckinghamshire, and near the Roman Ickeneld Way, which intersects this parish, and has imparted to it many interesting features. The adjunct to its name was evidently derived from a great family, who had acquired possessions here at an early period; but, at the Domesday Survey, it was included in Muselai Hundred. It is bounded, on the North and East, by part of Hertfordshire; and on the South and West, by Buckland." [The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham, by George Lipscomb, 1847]
topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The History and Antiquities of the County of Buckingham", Lipscomb G., 1847
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred - part one, Volume 3", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 22 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £7.15.2 of which sum Mr Fran. Osborne contributed £2.0.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 47 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Drayton Beauchamp.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 191 inhabitants in 49 families living in 36 houses recorded in Drayton Beauchamp.

Census Year Population of Drayton Beauchamp
1801* 191
1811* 224
1821* 272
1831* 275
1841 231
1851 261
1861 268
1871 227
1881 194
1891 177
1901 149

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Drayton Beauchamp area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Mary, Drayton Beauchamp have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1538 - 1812
Marriages 1541 - 1837
Burials 1567 - 1812

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society Publications
Dates covered
Society
Christenings
1700 - 1820
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1541 - 1812
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society
Marriages
1541 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Family History Society
Burials
1653 - 1818
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Drayton Beauchamp showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Drayton Beauchamp, St Mary 70 - Morning General Congregation

70 - Afternoon General Congregation

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Drayton Beauchamp which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Drayton Beauchamp to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Drayton Beauchamp has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Drayton Beauchamp was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

DRAYTON-BEAUCHAMP, in the hundred of Cotslow and deanery of Muresley, lies about six miles east of Aylesbury, near the road to Tring. The manor was anciently in the Maignons, from whom it passed to the Beauchamps and Cobhams. Sir John Cobham gave it to King Edward III. who in the year 1364 granted it, together with the hamlet of Helpsthorp, to his shield-bearer Thomas Cheney, or Cheyne. Drayton continued to be one of the chief seats of his descendants, till the death of William Cheyne, Lord Viscount Newhaven, in 1728. The manor of Drayton-Beauchamp was sold by Lord Newhaven's representatives to the Gumleys, about the year 1730, and is now the property of Lady Robert Manners: the manor-house has been pulled down.

In the parish church is a brass of one of the Cheynes, who died in 1375, in armour, with a mail gorget, most probably Thomas Cheyne abovementioned. Brown Willis's notes speak of another tomb, on which the figure of a woman only remained, with the date 1468, which tradition affirms to have been that of Sir John Cheyne. In the chancel is a sumptuous monument of white marble, by Woodman, in memory of Lord Newhaven, with an upright figure of the deceased in a large flowing peruke; Lady Newhaven is represented sitting. In the north window of the nave are eight of the apostles in stained glass.

The patronage of the rectory has been always annexed to the manor. Hooker, the celebrated ecclesiastical writer, was rector of Drayton-Beauchamp, in 1584. At Helpsthorp, a hamlet in this parish, was a chapel of ease, which has been destroyed.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Drayton Beauchamp is composed of two parts. The first part, Drayton, is believed to mean 'place where timber is dragged'. The second part, Beauchamp, derives from a family of that name that owned possessions at Drayton Beauchamp.