Granborough

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: North Central Bucks, Volume 4", Peter Quick.

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

• Monumental Inscriptions for St John the Baptist church are in the library* of the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
• War memorials in Granborough have been transcribed by Peter Quick and published by the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 58 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Granborough.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 230 inhabitants in 52 families living in 44 houses recorded in Granborough.

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

• 1841 - Full transcription for Granborough is available free online - click here to see
• 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
• 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
• 1881
  • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
  • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
• 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

• Vicars of the Parish Church of St John the Baptist

Details of the stained glass in the church can be found on the following web sites (the site includes many photos):

• Buckinghamshire Stained Glass

The original copies of the parish registers for St John the Baptist, Granborough have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Granborough showed the following numbers:

• Buckinghamshire Church Photos by Kevin Quick.
• Buckinghamshire Records and Local Studies Service - large collection of old photos of Buckinghamshire

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Granborough to another place.

Granborough was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

GRANBOROUGH, in the hundred of Ashendon, lies two miles to the south of Winslow. The manor belonged formerly to the abbey of St. Alban's, it is now the property of William Selby esq. whose ancestor, Mr. Lowndes, became possessed of it about the beginning of the last, or the end of the preceding century. The church, which was originally a chapel to Winslow, was pulled down during the civil war, by Cornelius Holland the regicide: it was rebuilt after the restoration of King Charles II. The great tithes of this parish, which is within the diocese of London and archdeaconry of St. Alban's, were formerly appropriated to the abbot and convent of St. Alban's: when the parish was inclosed, under an act of Parliament passed in 1796, it appeared that Lady Fermanagh was entitled to a portion of the great tithes, and the Rev. Mr. Milward to another portion, as vicar of East-Claydon: an allotment of land was assigned to Lady Fermanagh, and corn-rents to the vicars of Granborough and East-Claydon. The vicarage of Granborough is in the gift of the crown.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP767250 (Lat/Lon: 51.918253, -0.886201), Granborough which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

The name Granborough derives from the words grene, beorg and means 'green hill'.