Kingsey

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Dictionary of English Place-Names", A.D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1997, ISBN 0 19 28131 3
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: Aylesbury Hundred part three - Risboroughs, Missendens and their environs, Volume 9", Peter Quick.

The following Monumental Inscriptions are available as publications or as part of a Society library:

• Monumental Inscriptions for St Nicholas church are in the library* of the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
• War memorials in Kingsey have been transcribed by Peter Quick and published by the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

In 1642 there were 25 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £2.15.8 of which sum John Lillington vicar contributed £1.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 31 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Kingsey.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 165 inhabitants in 36 families living in 21 houses recorded in Kingsey.

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.
*** = The remainder is in Oxfordshire (Lewknor Hundred). The entire population is shown in Buckinghamshire, 1801-31. The population given for the part in Buckinghamshire in 1841 is too small owing to an error as to the boundary between the Buckinghamshire part and the Oxfordshire part.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

• 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
• 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
• 1881
  • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
  • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
• 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

• Vicars of the Parish Church of St Nicholas

The original copies of the parish registers for St Nicholas, Kingsey have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Kingsey showed the following numbers:

• Buckinghamshire Church Photos by Kevin Quick.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kingsey to another place.

Kingsey was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

KINGSEY, in the hundred of Ashendon and deanery fo Waddesdon, lies on the borders of Oxfordshire, about three miles west of Thame. The manor, during a great part of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, was in the family of Marney. At a later period it was in the Spillers, and passed in marriage, with the daughter and sole heir of Sir Robert Spiller, to the Herberts of Tythorp, (a hamlet of this parish, situiated in Oxfordshire,) a younger branch of the Herberts, Earls of Pembroke. It is now in moieties, one of which belongs to Mrs. Anne Herbert, a maiden lady, sister and coheir of Philip Herbert esq. the last heir male of this branch of the family, who died in 1749; the other moeity passed in marriage to Philip Lord Viscount Wenman, father of the late Lord, and is now by bequest the property of Miss Bertie. The mansion, sometimes called Kingsey, and sometimes Tythorp-House, is the seat of Mrs. Herbert.

The church, which was formerly a chapel of ease to haddenham, is now a distinct vicarage, in the gift of the dean and chapter of Rochester, to whom the great tithes are appropriated. The lease of the tithes has long been vested in the Herbert family, who have frequently, as lessees, presented to the vicarage.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP743068 (Lat/Lon: 51.754972, -0.924993), Kingsey which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

The name Kingsey derives from the old english cyning + eg and means ' the King's island'.