Little Horwood

"The village, which is small and contains several 16th and 17th-century half-timber houses, now much altered, is built along both sides of the road to Great Horwood, and the northern portion is known as Wood End. The church stands at the Great Horwood entrance to the village, and beyond on rising ground is a resevoir. There are several outlying farms. The old Moat Farm, now demolished, was surrounded by a homestead moat. Horwood House, in the south of the parish, is a modern building recently erected by Mr. F. A. Denny, who pulled down the ancient house formerly standing on the site. The grounds, which are of considerable size, are skirted on the south by the Oxford to Bletchley branch of the London and North Western railway." [© copyright of the editors of The Victoria Histories of the Counties of England]

topup

Bibliography

The following reference sources have been used in the construction of this page, and may be referred to for further detail. Most if not all of these volumes are available in the Reference section of the County Library in Aylesbury.

"Buckinghamshire Contributions for Ireland 1642", Wilson J., 1983.
"Buckinghamshire Returns of the Census of Religious Worship 1851", Legg E. ed., 1991, ISBN 0 901198 27 7.
"Magna Britannia: Buckinghamshire", Lysons S. and Lysons D., 1806.
"The Place-Names of Buckinghamshire", Mawer A. and Stenton F.M., 1925.
"The Victoria History of the Counties of England: Buckinghamshire", Page W. ed., 1905-1928
"War Memorials and War Graves: North Central Bucks, Volume 4", Peter Quick.

topup

Cemeteries

War Memorials

War memorials in Little Horwood have been transcribed by Peter Quick, and published in a booklet entitled "War Memorials and War Graves: North Central Bucks, Volume 4", available from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

topup

Census

In 1642 there were 46 people named in the tax returns for contributions for Ireland. Between them they were assessed at £4.1.3 of which sum Mr Henry Sandys contributed £0.10.0

In 1798 the Posse Comitatus listed 84 men between the ages of 16 and 60 in Little Horwood.

In the earliest government census of 1801, there were 339 inhabitants in 77 families living in 77 houses recorded in Little Horwood.

Census Year Population of Little Horwood
1801* 339
1811* 325
1821* 429
1831* 431
1841 392
1851 427
1861 449
1871 411
1881 309
1891 304
1901 267

* = No names were recorded in census documents from 1801 to 1831.
** = Census documents from 1911 to 2001 are only available in summary form. Names are witheld under the 100 year rule.

Microfilm copies of all census enumerators' notebooks for 1841 to 1891 are held at the Local Studies Libraries at Aylesbury and Milton Keynes, as well as centrally at the PRO. A table of 19th century census headcount by parish is printed in the VCH of Bucks, Vol.2, pp 96-101.

Availability of census transcripts and indexes.

  • 1851 - Full transcripts and indexes for Buckinghamshire are available on CD-ROM, hard copy and microfiche from the Buckinghamshire Family History Society.
  • 1861 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.
  • 1881
    • Available on CD-ROM from the Church of the Latter Day Saints, as part of the National 1881 Census Index.
    • Available on CD-ROM for Buckinghamshire, with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from Drake Software.
  • 1891 - Available on CD-ROM with advanced search and mapping capabilities etc. from the Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Horwood area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

The original copies of the parish registers for St Nicholas, Little Horwood have been deposited in the Buckinghamshire Record Office in Aylesbury, and they hold the following years:

Event Dates covered
Christenings 1568 - 1866
Marriages 1568 - 1968
Burials 1575 - 1920

Copies or indexes to the parish registers are available from societies as follows:

Event
Society Library*
Dates covered
Society
Marriages
1754 - 1837
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society

* = material held in a Society library is generally available for loan to all members either via post, or by collection at a meeting

An ecclesiastical census was carried out throughout England on 30 March 1851 to record the attendance at all places of worship. These returns are in the Buckinghamshire Record Office and have been published by the Buckinghamshire Record Society (vol 27). The returns for Little Horwood showed the following numbers:

Church Attendance
Little Horwood, St Nicholas 39 - Morning General Congregation
28 - Morning Sunday Scholars
67 - Morning Total

95 - Afternoon General Congregation
31 - Afternoon Sunday Scholars
126 - Afternoon Total

Little Horwood,
Independent Private Room
27 - week Evening
Little Horwood,
Methodist Chapel
50 - Morning

50 - Afternoon

50 - Evening

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Horwood which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Little Horwood to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Little Horwood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Little Horwood was described in 1806 in "Magna Britannia" as follows:

LITTLE-HARWOOD, in the hundred of Cotslow and deanery of Muresley, lies about two miles and a half to the north-east of Winslow. The manor, which had belonged to the abbot and convent of St. Alban's, was granted in 1599 to Sir John Fortescue, whose son sold it to Sir Geoge Villiers. It was purchased of the mortgagees, of Geoge Villiers, the second Duke of Buckingham (of that family), by William Lowndes esq. ancestor of the present proprietor, who has taken the name of Selby. A capital mansion at this place, which had belonged successively to the families of Pigot, Styles, Carter, and Adams, is now the property and seat of the Rev. Mr. Langston: it was purchased by his father, Sir Stephen Langston, alderman of London, who died in 1797, and lies buried in the church, where is a monument to his memory. Mr. Langston has the impropriation of the great tithes, and is patron and incumbent of the vicarage. The parish has been inclosed by an act of parliament, passed in 1766, when an allotment of land was assigned to Mr. Kidgell Sandon, then impropriator of the great tithes, and a corn-rent to the vicar.

topup
topup

Names, Geographical

The name Horwood derives from the old english words horh, wudu, and means 'filthy' or 'muddy wood'. The name Little being used as a distinguishing affix

topup

Taxation