Caldecote

• The Monumental Inscriptions in the graveyard of St. Michael are recorded in the Cambridge Records Office for the years 1759-1975. These inscriptions are also available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)

• The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridgeshire Archives. In addition the 1851 Census for Caldecote is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)

• Here are photographs of Churches etc. in the parish:
  • The Church of St. Michael and All Angels, Caldecote.
  • The tree next to the Church. Would you have a tree this close to a building you owned?
• The following Churches have their own websites:
  • The Church of St. Michael and All Angels, Caldecote

• "The church of St. Michael, standing on a picturesque and woody bank, is a small but ancient building of stone in the Early Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, north and south porches and an embattled western tower containing 3 bells: the chancel retains a small crocketed niche, and in the south porch is a benatura: there are carved stalls in the chancel and a rood screen with traces of colour; the church was thoroughly repaired in 1860 and 1861, and affords 100 sittings; during the year 1899 the church was restored and several gifts made to it, including a small organ. The register dates from the year 1728." [Kelly's Directory- Cambridgeshire - 1929]
• There is a description of the church on the Cambridgeshire Churches website.

• Church of England
  • Caldecote, St. Michael: Records of baptisms 1740-86, 1798-1972, marriages 1739-1969, burials 1740-1965 and banns for 1754-1812, 1827-41, 1871-92 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives, transcripts of the parish registers are available for the years 1662-1988, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search).The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1605-32 and 1660-1858 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.

• A transcript of the Caldecote parish entries from Samuel Lewis's 1835 Topographical Dictionary of England,
• A transcript of the Caldecote parish entries from 1929 Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Caldecote to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL345568 (Lat/Lon: 52.193041, -0.033707), Caldecote which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• The Caldecote War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched.

• Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1767, 1798 on microfilm and 1806-32.