Cambridge St Benedict
"CAMBRIDGE ST. BENEDICT, a parish in the town of Cambridge."
- Monumental inscriptions in the churchyard for the years 1621-1858 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives.
- The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridgeshire Archives. In addition the 1851 Census for Cambridge is available in indexed form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)
- The following Churches have their own websites:
- St. Benedict's Church, Cambridge
- "St. Benedict's church, in Benet street, adjoining Corpus Christi college, is a building of stone in the Early Norman, Early English and later styles, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, north porch and a western tower containing 6 bells: the tower, with its "long and short" masonry and baluster windows, is regarded as a Saxon work, and there are portions of similar work of the same period at the north-east and south-east angles of the nave: the church is connected with Corpus Christi college by a range of buildings carrying a gallery, which is now occupied as college rooms: the church was repaired and enlarged in 1856, and again during the period 1874-82, at a cost of £3,016, and affords about 350 sittings, of which 100 are free. The register dates from the year 1539, and records the burial, 12 Jan. 1630, of Thomas Hobson, the famous University carrier. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £60, including 23 acres of glebe, in the gift of Corpus Christi college, and held since 1895 by the Rev. Charles Peter Littlejohn M.A. of that college." [Kelly's Directory - 1900]
- Church of England
- Cambridge St Benedict: Records of baptisms 1539-1925, marriages 1539-1984, burials 1539-1943, and banns 1754-1958 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1691, 1713-1847 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Transcripts exist in the Cambridgeshire Archives for baptisms, marriages and burials for the years 1539-1851. The parish registers 1539-1851 are available on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)
- Please see the Cambridge page for the gazetteers.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cambridge St Benedict to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL448582 (Lat/Lon: 52.203013, 0.11747), Cambridge St Benedict which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- The Cambridge St Benedicts War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched.