Duxford St John
"DUXFORD ST. JOHN, a parish in the village of Duxford."
- The Monumental Inscriptions of St John's churchyard 1753-1937 have been recorded and reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. These are also available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)
- The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridgeshire Archives. In addition the 1851 Census for Duxford St John is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)
- The following Churches have their own websites:
- St. John's Church, Duxford
- "St. John's church is an edifice in similar styles, and consists of chancel with chantry chapel, nave, north aisle, south porch and a line central embattled tower of Norman date with a small spire and containing 6 bells : the chapel retains a piscina, and the rood stairs in the north-west angle of the tower are in very good preservation: there are 220 sittings: the church is now only used for burial services. The register dates from the year 1685." [Kelly's Directory - 1929]
- Church of England
- Duxford St John: Records of baptisms 1684-1886, 1976, marriages 1684-1907, burials 1684-1934 and banns 1754-1812, 1824-1894 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1857 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridgeshire Archives for Bishops's Transcript's 1599-1687, baptisms, marriages, burials 1684-1851. The parish registers are available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)
- Please see the Duxford page for the gazetteers.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Duxford St John to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL478462 (Lat/Lon: 52.094409, 0.156121), Duxford St John which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)