The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868

"BROXTON HUNDRED, one of the 7 hundreds or subdivisions of the county palatine of Chester, situated in the south parliamentary division of the county, and bounded on the N. by the hundred of Wirrall, on the E. by the hundreds of Eddisbury and Nantwich, on the S. by the county of Flint, and on the W. by the county of Denbigh. It is separated into the Higher and Lower divisions The Higher contains the parishes of Coddington, Farndon, Harthill, Shocklach, and Tilston, with parts of Aldford, Bunbury, Handley, Malpas, and Threapwood. The Lower contains the parishes of Christleton, Eccleston, Guilden-Sutton, Pulford, Tattenhall, and Waverton, with parts of Aldford, Backford, Doddleston, Handley, St. Mary-on-the-Hill, St. Oswald, Plemonstall, and Tarvin. In the Norman survey, this hundred is called Dudesten. The entire hundred comprises an area of 77,470 acres."

"BUCKLOW HUNDRED, one of the 7 hundreds or subdivisions of the county palatine of Chester, situated in the northern parliamentary division of the county, and bounded on the N. and W. by the river Mersey, separating it from Lancashire, on the E. by the hundred of Macclesfield, on the S. by the hundreds of Northwich and Eddisbury. It contains the parishes of Ashton-upon-Mersey, Bowdon, Grappenhall, Knutsford, Lymm, Mobberley, Runcorn, and Warburton, with parts of Great Budworth, and Rostherne. The hundred extends over an area of about 107,700 acres."

"DANE RIVER, rises, and is situated on the borders of Derby and Cheshire, and runs 30 miles W. to the river Weaver at Northwich."

"EDDISBURY, a hundred in county palatine of Chester; one of the seven hundreds into which the county is divided. It is bounded on the N. by the river Mersey and hundred of Wirral, on the E. by the hundreds of Bucklow and Northwich, S. by the hundred of Nantwich, and W. by the hundred of Broxton. It is in two diva.; the first contains the parishes of Little Budworth, Delamere, Over, Tarporley, Whitegate, and parts of Bunbury, Middlewich, St. Oswald, and 21 townships The second division contains the parishes of Barrow, Frodsham, Ince, Thornton-le-Moors, Weaverham, Willington, and parts of Great Budworth, Plemonstall, Tarvin, and 28 townships The whole area is 83,021 acres."

"HELBRE ISLANDS, a ridge of rocks at the mouth of the Dee, county Chester. On the principal rock is a beacon pointing out the passage over the Hoyle Sands, with 11 feet to 8 fathoms water leading into the Dee, or by Hoylake into the Mersey."

"HILBRE ISLAND, a small island on the coast of Chester, in the hundred of Lower Wirrall, county Chester, 3 miles W.N.W. of West Kirby, and 9 W. of Birkenhead. It is the largest of a small group of islands situated near the river Dee's mouth. It is extra parochial, having formerly belonged to Chester Cathedral, but has been subsequently purchased by the corporation of Liverpool."

"HOYLE SANDS, in county Chester, extend for about 4 miles along the Wirral side of the Dee's mouth, and have inside a roadstead called Hoylake, with 3 fathoms water, which conducts into the S. channel of the Mersey."

"MACCLESFIELD HUNDRED, one of the subdivisions of Cheshire, situated in the north-eastern part of the county. It includes the town of Macclesfield, and the parishes of Alderley, Cheadle, Gawsworth, Mottramin-Longden-Dale, Northen, Prestbury, Stockport, Taxall, and Wilsonslow, with portions of Astbury and Rostherne, comprising an area, exclusive of the town of Macclesfield, of about 148,000 acres. It gives name to a deanery in the archdeaconry and diocese of Chester."

"NANTWICH, a hundred in the county of Chester. It contains the parishes of Acton, Audlem, Baddiley, Coppenhall, Marbury, Church-Minshull, Nantwich, Wistaston, Wrenbury, Wybunbury, and parts of Barthomley, Sandbach, and Whitchurch, comprising an area of 87,640 acres."

"NORTHWICH, a hundred in the county of Chester, contains the towns of Congleton and Northwich, and the parishes of Brereton-cum-Smithwick, Church-Lawton, Davenham, Swettenham, Warmingham, and parts of Astbury, Great Budworth, Middlewick, and Sandbach, comprising an area of 69,460 acres."

"RINGEY, a stream of the county of Chester, rises near Macclesfield, and joins the Bollin below Wilmslow."

"ROCK CHANNEL, the southern approach to the Mersey, county Chester, off New Brighton. It lies between Burbo Sand and the shore, and is in a line with Horse Channel. The passage is marked by a lighthouse 88 feet high, with a revolving minute light seen for 15 miles."

"SALISBURY SANDS, a bank at the mouth of the river Dee, county Chester, 4 miles E. of Point of Ayr. It extends nearly 7 miles in length, but is traversed by a narrow channel called Salisbury Gut."

"THE MERSEY, a river in the N.W. of England, forming the boundary between the counties of Cheshire and Lancashire, and second only to the Thames in commercial importance, being the channel by which vessels approach Liverpool, the second port in England. It is formed by the junction of the rivers Goyt and Thame, which unite their streams at Stockport; and, after receiving the waters of the Irwell, Bollin, and Weaver, falls into the sea a little below Liverpool, by way of the Victoria Channel, which has from four to twelve fathoms water between the Burbo and Formby Flats. At its entrance, which is marked by the Black Rock Light, its channel is deep and narrow, but expanding, a little higher up, into a wide sandy estuary, the shores of which have been converted into spacious docks. [See Liverpool.] Several artificial cuts have been made to facilitate the navigation, so that small craft can ascend as far as Runcorn.

"WEAVER, a river of county Chester, rises near Nantwich, and being joined by the rivers Dane and Croke, falls into the Mersey near Frodsham."

"WIRRAL, a hundred in two divisions, higher and lower, lying between the Mersey and the Dee, county Cheshire. The higher division contains the parishes of Burton, Eastham, Neston, Shotwick, Stanlow, Great Stanney, Stoke, and parts of Backford, Bromborough, St. Mary-on-the-Hill, St. Oswald, and Holy Trinity; and the lower division contains the parishes of Bebington, Bidstone, Birkenhead, Heswall, Thurstaston, Upton, Wallasey, Kirby West, Woodchurch, and part of Bromborough; comprising together 63,220 acres, with a population, in 1861, of 69,448. This place gives name to a Poor-law Union and to a deanery in the archdeaconry and diocese of Chester."