Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for CHURCH COPPENHALL

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


Primary tabs

"COPPENHALL, a parish in the hundred of NANTWICH, county palatine of CHESTER, comprising the townships of Church-Coppenhall and Monks-Coppenhall, and containing 512 inhabitants, of which number, 366 are in the township of Church-Coppenhall, 5 miles (N. E.) from Nantwich, and 146 in the adjoining township of Monks-Coppenhall. The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Chester, rated in the king's books at £6. 10., and in the patronage of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is built of wood and plaister, in the style which prevailed in the reign of Queen Elizabeth." [From Samuel Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England  (1831) ©Mel Lockie]

  • Church Coppenhall, also a township in Coppenhall ancient parish, Nantwich hundred (SJ 7057), became a civil parish in 1866.
  • The civil parish was abolished in 1936 to become part of Monks Coppenhall and the borough of Crewe.
  • It included the hamlets of Maw Green, Merrills Bridge and Sydney
  • The population was 241 in 1801 and 495 in 1851.

For the period after 1936. see Monks Coppenhall.



  • Coppenhall Cemetery, Princess Street. Opened 1876.


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area or see them printed on a map.


Civil Registration

  • Nantwich (1837-1936)

Court Records

  • Nantwich (1828-1936)
  • Crewe (Borough) (1892-1894)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of CHURCH COPPENHALL which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from CHURCH COPPENHALL to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

Places associated with Coppenhall ancient parish with separate pages


  • 1894 March 24 — Lost the part in Crewe Municipal Borough to Monks Coppenhall (pop. 4892 in 1901)
  • 1936 April 1 — Abolished and incorporated into Monks Coppenhall (794 acres, pop. 996 in 1931)

You can see the administrative areas in which CHURCH COPPENHALL has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Politics and Government

  • Nantwich Rural Sanitary District (wholly, 1875-1892 ; partly, 1892-94)
  • Crewe Urban Sanitary District (partly, 1892-94) *
  • Crewe Municipal Borough (partly, 1892-94) *
  • Nantwich Rural District (1894-1936)

* The part in Crewe Municipal Borough and Crewe Urban Sanitary District (1892-94) was added to the civil parish of Monks Coppenhall in 1894.


Voting Registers

  • South Cheshire (1832-67)
  • West Cheshire (1868-85)
  • Crewe (1885-1936)