Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for HESWALL CUM OLDFIELD

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


"HESWALL, a parish in the lower division of the hundred of WIRRALL, county palatine of CHESTER, comprising the townships of Gayton and Heswall with Oldfield, and containing 386 inhabitants, of which number, 233 are in the joint township of Heswall with Oldfield, 3¾ miles (N. W. by N.) from Great Neston. The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Chester, rated in the king's books at £18. 8. 4., and in the patronage of Davies Davenport, Esq. and Mrs. O'Kell, alternately. The church, pleasantly situated on the banks of the Dee, is an ancient structure, and contains several monuments in memory of different members of the Glegg family. There is a small unendowed school." [From Samuel Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England  (1831) ©Mel Lockie]

"OLDFIELD, a township, joint with Heswall, in the parish of HESWALL, lower division of the hundred of WIRRALL, county palatine of CHESTER, 4¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Parkgate. The population is returned with Heswall." [From Samuel Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England  (1831) ©Mel Lockie]

  • Heswall cum Oldfield,  a township in Heswall ancient parish, Wirral hundred (SJ 2781), became a civil parish in 1866.
  • Since 1974 it has been an unparished area in the county of Merseyside.
  • It includes the hamlets of Dawstone and Oldfield.
  • The population was 168 in 1801, 513 in 1851, 2167 in 1901, 6773 in 1951, and 29977 in 2001.


  • Heswall Cemetery, Irby Road. Opened 1960.


  • Heswall: St. Peter (Church of England). The ancient parish church for the township of Heswall cum Oldfield.
  • Heswall: Church of the Good Shepherd (Church of England). Built in 1901 as a chapel to St. Peter.
  • Heswall: Nautical Training School Chapel (Church of England). Opened in 1915 (attached to St. Peter). Closed in 1956.
  • Heswall, Our Lady and St. John (Roman Catholic), Telegraph Road. Built in 1919.
  • Heswall, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers). Founded in 1939.
  • Heswall, Centenary Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Telegraph Road. Built in 1891 (replacing an earlier building in Gayton). Registers of baptisms 1859-1949 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Heswall, United Reformed Church (Presbyterian), Telegraph Road. ReBuilt in 1909.

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heswall area or see them printed on a map.


Civil Registration

  • Wirral (1837-1974)
  • Birkenhead (1974-98)
  • Wirral (1998+)

Court Records

  • Wirral (1828+)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of HESWALL CUM OLDFIELD which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from HESWALL CUM OLDFIELD to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

Places associated with Heswall cum Oldfield ancient parish with separate pages

You can see the administrative areas in which HESWALL CUM OLDFIELD has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Politics and Government

  • Wirral Rural Sanitary District (1875-94)
  • Wirral Rural District (1894-1933)
  • Wirral Urban District (1933-74)
  • Wirral Metropolitan Borough [Merseyside] (1974+)

Voting Registers

  • South Cheshire (1832-67)
  • West Cheshire (1868-85)
  • Wirral (1885-1974)