Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for MIDDLEWICH

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


"MIDDLEWICH, a parish, county palatine of CHESTER, comprising the township of Weever in the first division of the hundred of Eddisbury, the market-town of Middlewich, and the townships of Byley with Yatehouse, Clive, Croxton, Kinderton with Hulme, Minshull-Vernon, Mooresbarrow with Parme, Newton, Occlestone, Ravenscroft, Sproston, Stublach, Sutton, and Wimboldsley, in the hundred of NORTHWICH, county palatine of CHESTER, and containing 4450 inhabitants, of which number, 1212 are in the town of Middlewich, 20 miles (E.) from Chester, and 167 (N.W.) from London. ... More" [From Samuel Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England  (1831) ©Mel Lockie]

  • Middlewich, also a township in Middlewich ancient parish, Northwich hundred (SJ 7066), became a civil parish in 1866.
  • The population was 1190 in 1801, 1235 in 1851, 4669 in 1901, 6736 in 1951, and 13101 in 2001.


  • Middlewich: St. Michael & All Angels (Church of England). The ancient parish church for the townships of Middlewich, Kinderton cum Hulme, and Newton (near Middlewich).
  • Byley cum Lees: St. John the Evangelist (Church of England). The district church for part of Kinderton cum Hulme from 1848.
  • Middlewich: St. Mary (Roman Catholic). Founded in 1842.
  • Middlewich, Central Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Lewin Street. Built in 1828, rebuilt in 1909, closed in 1969. Registers 1840-1969 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Middlewich, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Lewin Street. Built in 1841, rebuilt in 1963.
  • Newton, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Sandbach Road. Built in 1843, rebuilt in 1879.
  • Newton, Methodist Chapel (Free), Chester Road. Founded in 1863. Registers 1868-1904 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Click for photo of church
    Middlewich, United Reformed Church
    (Independent/Congregational), Queen Street. Founded in 1797. Registers 1807-1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

For the areas added in 1894 and 1936 see also Byley and Tetton.

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Middlewich area or see them printed on a map.


Civil Registration

  • Northwich (1837-1974)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974-88)
  • South Cheshire (1988-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Court Records

  • Northwich (1828-99)
  • Middlewich & Sandbach (1899-1907)
  • Middlewich (1907-67)
  • South East Cheshire (1967-74)
  • Congleton (1974-92)
  • South Cheshire (1992+)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of MIDDLEWICH which are provided by:



Transcription for Middlewich from Samuel Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England  (1831)



Ask for a calculation of the distance from MIDDLEWICH to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

Places in Middlewich ancient parish with separate pages


You can see the administrative areas in which MIDDLEWICH has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Politics and Government

  • Middlewich Urban Sanitary District (1875-94)
  • Middlewich Urban District (1894-1974)
  • Congleton (1974-2009)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Voting Registers

  • South Cheshire (1832-67)
  • West Cheshire (1868-85)
  • Northwich (1885-1954)
  • Nantwich (1954-74)