Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Tattenhall

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


Primary tabs

"TATTENHALL, a parish in the lower division of the hundred of BROXTON, county palatine of CHESTER, comprising the townships of Golborn-Bellow, Newton by Tattenhall, and Tattenhall, and containing 1016 inhabitants, of which number, 855 are in the township of Tattenhall, 5¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Tarporley. The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Chester, rated in the king's books at £13.17. 6., and in the patronage of the Bishop of Chester. The church, dedicated to St. Alban, has lately received an addition of one hundred free sittings, the Incorporated Society for the enlargement of churches and chapels having granted £30 towards defraying the expense. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyan Methodists. Dr. Paploe, rector of this parish, who died in 1781, gave money, vested in the purchase of £334 three per cents., for the education of twelve children." [From Samuel Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England  (1831) ©Mel Lockie]

  • Tattenhall, also a township in Tattenhall ancient parish, Broxton hundred (SJ 4958), became a civil parish in 1866.
  • It included the hamlet of Newtown.
  • The population was 606 in 1801, 982 in 1851, 975 in 1901, 1049 in 1951, and 1986 in 2001.
  • In 2015 the civil parish was abolished and incorporated into Tattenhall & District.


  • Tattenhall: St. Alban (Church of England). The ancient parish church for the township of Tattenhall.
  • Tattenhall: St. Plegmund (Roman Catholic)
  • Tattenhall, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1796. Registers of baptisms 1798-1853 and baptisms, marriages and burials 1955-1962 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Tattenhall, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded in 18th century, closed in 1937.
  • Tattenhall, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1809, rebuilt in 1898, closed in 1979. Registers 1926-1979 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tattenhall area or see them printed on a map.


Civil Registration

  • Great Boughton (1837-69)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-74)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009-15)

Court Records

  • Broxton (1828-1974)
  • Chester (1974-2001)
  • Chester, Ellesmere Port & Neston (2001-12)
  • West Cheshire (2012-15)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tattenhall which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tattenhall to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

Places associated with Tattenhall ancient parish with separate pages


You can see the administrative areas in which Tattenhall has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Politics and Government

  • Tarvin Rural Sanitary District (1875-94)
  • Tarvin Rural District (1894-74)
  • Chester (1974-2009)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009-15)

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Great Boughton (1837-71)
  • Tarvin (1871-1930)

Voting Registers

  • South Cheshire (1832-67)
  • West Cheshire (1868-85)
  • Eddisbury (1885-1948)
  • Northwich (1949-54)
  • Nantwich (1955-74)