The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"ST. FEOCK, a parish in the hundred of West Powder, county Cornwall, 4½ miles from Truro, which is its post town. It is situated near the head of Falmouth Harbour, and is bounded on the E. by the river Fal, on the W. by Restronguet Creek, and on the S. by Carrick Roads. The land is chiefly, arable, with about 600 acres of pasture. The scenery is picturesque, and beautifully diversified with wood and water. At Point is a large smelting-house for lead and silver ore; and at Devoran, a small shipping port at the head of Restronguet Creek, is a railway which conveys the copper ore from the Gwenness mines, to be shipped for South Wales, bringing back coals for their use. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Exeter, value £204, in the patronage of the bishop. The church is an ancient edifice, with a detached tower about 60 feet off. In the churchyard is an ancient cross, with a figure rudely sculptured. At Devoran a beautiful church has lately been erected in the early English style, with granite spire, as a chapel-of-ease for that rapidly increasing village. There are several places of worship for Wesleyans, and a Friends' meeting-house and burial-ground, called "Come-to-good," said to be one of the oldest in the county. There are National schools near the church and at Devoran. The chief seats are Trelifick and Porthgwidden, both beautifully situated on the banks of the harbour. At Roundwood are traces of a British camp.