Hide

St Tudy

hide
Hide

The parish of St Tudy, (Cornish: Eglostudi), is situated in the Deanery of Trigg Minor and Hundred of Trigg. It is bounded on the north by St Teath and Michaelstow, on the east by St Breward, on the south by St Mabyn, and on the west by St Kew. Saint Tudy is also honoured at several places in Brittany, and may be a pet-form name for St Tugdual, who was an important Breton saint (O.J.Padel).

The parish is situated in a farming area between the Rivers Camel and Allen. The Bligh family (of 'Mutiny on the Bounty' fame) lived at Tinten for several generations; several of them became mayors of Bodmin. The only village is the Churchtown.

Most parish and church description(s) on these pages are from Lake's Parochial History of the County of Cornwall by J Polsue (Truro, 1867 - 1873)

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

The Cornwall Family History Society have published Monumental Inscriptions for the Parish Church - 317 entries.

topup

Census

Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the Cornwall Record Office. The Cornwall Family History Society offers a census search service for its members.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:

topup

Church History

  • Anglican. The parish church is located in OS Grid Square SX0676 and was dedicated to St Tudius. It comprises a chancel, nave, south aisle, and a short north aisle. The south arcade has six four-centred arches on monolith granite pillars; the north arcade has three similar arches with like pillars. There are a south porch, a priest's door, and a blocked north door. The tower has three stages, is 64 feet in height, and is finished with battlements and pinnacles; it contains five bells.
    St Tudy church was "thoroughly restored" in 1873 (when the excellent wagon roofs were "bereft" of intervening plaster). The tower was repaired in 1887-8.
  • Non-Conformist. There is a United Methodist Free Church chapel in the Churchtown.
topup

Church Records

  • LDS Church Records.
  • The Cornwall Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1559 - 1865, Burials 1559 - 1899, Marriages 1560 - 1963, Boyd's Marriage Index 1560 - 1812, Pallot's Marriage Index 1790 -1812.
  • The Cornwall Family History Society have published on-line transcripts of:
    • Pre 1813 Marriages
    • 1813-37 Marriages
    • 1813-37 Burials.
  • Parish Registers - General. The parish registers (i.e. all the births, marriages and burial records) from 1559 to the present day have been transcribed by the parish. St Tudy Church Records Database (the church records for Burials, Baptisms and Marriages from 1559 to 2000) have been put onto a database at the St Tudy Rectory. (2/2017 - the parish history group site doesn't seem to have this data but see wikipedia for a table showing all available records)
  • Baptisms.
    • Baptisms 1813 to 1911 in this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
    • The Cornish Forefathers' Society have published on CD, baptisms 1740 to 1840 for this parish which can be purchased on Parish Chest.
  • Banns. Banns 1823 to 1900 in this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
  • Marriages.
  • Burials.
topup

Civil Registration

The parish of St Tudy is in the Bodmin Registration District, and has been since 1st July 1837; there were sub-districts are Bodmin, Egloshayle, Lanlivery and St Mabyn but these have now been abolished. Parishes within the district were: Blisland, Bodmin, Bodmin Borough, Cardinham, Egloshayle, Endellion, Helland, Lanhydrock, Lanviet, Lanlivery, Lostwithiel, Luxulion, St. Kew, St. Mabyn, St. Minver Highlands, St. Minver Lowlands, St. Tudy, St. Winnow, Temple, Wadebridge, Warleggon, Withiel.

The Superintendant Registrar can be contacted at: Lyndhurst, 66 Nicholas Street, Bodmin, Cornwall, PL31 2AG. Tel: 01208 73677.

topup

Description & Travel

  • Photographs of St Tudy are available on-line.
  • The village of St Tudy has a web site; this site includes more photographs and historical information as well as current information.
You can see pictures of St Tudy which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868

"ST. TUDY, a parish in the hundred of Trigg, county Cornwall, 6 miles N. of Bodmin, its post town. The village, which is considerable, formerly belonged to the family of Nicolls, of Penrose, from whom it came to the Kekewicks. The substratum abounds in slate and porphyry. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Exeter, value £700, in the patronage of Christ Church, Oxford. The church contains monuments and effigies of the Nicolls family. Dr. R. Lower, the physician, and his brother, Sir William, the dramatist, were born at Tremere, in this parish. The principal residence is Hengar. Fairs are held on 20th May and 14th September.

topup

Genealogy

  • OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
topup

Historical Geography

The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in St Tudy ecclesiastical parish:

You can see the administrative areas in which St Tudy has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SX065761 (Lat/Lon: 50.55255, -4.73285), St Tudy which are provided by:

topup

Occupations

Apprenticeship Indentures for St Tudy (1803 - 1828) can be found in the Cornwall Record Office.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • St Tudy parish was part of the Bodmin Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
  • Overseers' Accounts (1797 to 1838) and Settlement Papers (1830), are available in the Cornwall Record Office.
topup

Population

  • Population in 1801 - 502 persons
  • Population in 1811 - 512 persons
  • Population in 1821 - 605 persons
  • Population in 1831 - 658 persons
  • Population in 1841 - 661 persons
  • Population in 1851 - 652 persons
  • Population in 1861 - 570 persons
  • Population in 1871 - 579 persons
  • Population in 1881 - 521 persons
  • Population in 1891 - 520 persons
  • Population in 1901 - 495 persons
  • Population in 1911 - 499 persons
  • Population in 1921 - 450 persons
  • Population in 1931 - 485 persons
  • Population in 1951 - 437 persons
  • Population in 1961 - 413 persons
  • Population in 1971 - 391 persons
  • Population in 1981 - 440 persons
  • Population in 1991 - 570 persons
  • Population in 2001 - 637 persons
  • Population in 2011 - 000 persons
topup

Religion & Religious Life

  • The Protestation Returns of 1642 for this parish are available on-line.
topup

Statistics

The parish comprises 3283 acres of land.