Whitehaven Holy Trinity

Primary tabs

"WHITEHAVEN ............There are four churches, St. Nicholas, Holy Trinity, St. James's, and Christ Church, varying in value from £350 to £150. St. James's and St. Nicholas have lately been made vicarages. Whitehaven is in the diocese of Carlisle............" [Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]


Archives and Libraries



  • History, Topography and Directory of Cumberland, 1901, T.F. Bulmer, T.Bulmer & Co., Penrith, 1901.

Church History

  • "Holy Trinity church, a large plain structure, was built in 1715 by James Lowther, Esq., and the inhabitants. The church terminates at one end in a semi-circular apse, in which stands the communion table. This recess, which forms the chancel, is lighted by a massive stained glass window, on which is depicted the Resurrection of Our Lord; and on the other side is a memorial window; one presented by Capt. Dixon, and the other by the Grisdale family. A new and massive font was placed in the church in 1876, in memory of the late Mrs. Dalton. There are also several mural monuments, commemorative of various local families; one, near the tower, is of marble, and records the death of Sir James Lowther, in 1755, the fourth and last baronet of this branch of the family. In 1895-6, the building was restored, and the interior fitted with electric light." (Extract from Bulmer's 1901 History & Directory, cited above)

Church Records

  • The following church records are available at the Whitehaven office of the Cumbria Archive Service: Church of England (CRO Reference: PR84)
    Baptisms Marriage Burial Bishops Trans
    1715-1942 1716-1948 1716-1855 1717-1856

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Whitehaven Holy Trinity which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from Whitehaven Holy Trinity to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Whitehaven Holy Trinity has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Probate Records

  • Holy Trinity fell under the authority of the diocese of Preston and wills prior to 1858 were proved in the consistory court there. Records from 1548 to 1858 include original wills, letters of administration and inventories, although there are significant gaps in the years before 1661. These are deposited with the CRO at Whitehaven.
  • The Province of York covered most of northern England, including this parish, and anyone who died leaving property in more than one diocese within the province would have their will proved in the Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of York (PCY) or sometimes in the Chancery Court of the Archbishop of York. These records are now deposited with York University, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.
  • For probate from 1858 on, and general information, see our England - Probate page. However please note registered copy probate records for Cumberland are also available 1858-1941 at the Record Office in Carlisle.

[Page originated by Don Noble in 1997 and updated 12 Jun 1999 - Don Noble]