Whitehaven St Nicholas

Primary tabs

"WHITEHAVEN ............There are four churches, St. Nicholas, Holy Trinity, St. James's, and Christ Church, varying in value from £350 to £150. St. James's and St. Nicholas have lately been made vicarages. Whitehaven is in the diocese of Carlisle............" [Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]


Archives and Libraries



  • History, Topography and Directory of Cumberland, 1901, T.F. Bulmer, T.Bulmer & Co., Penrith, 1901.

Church History

  • "Until 1693, the only place of worship in Whitehaven was "a little old Chapel" in Chapel Street, but in that year St. Nicholas' Church, erected by Sir John Lowther and the inhabitants, at a cost of £1,066, was opened for devine service. The church was taken down in 1881 and rebuilt in the Perpendicular Gothic style, the whole cost being defrayed by Miss Gibson, as a memorial to her parents. Whitehaven is supposed to have formerly been a chapel under the mother church of St. Bees; and when the church of St. Nicholas was erected in 1687-93, the inhabitants petitioned Parliament that Whitehaven might be constituted a separate and distinct parish, but their prayer was refused, and the town continued to be dependent on St. Bees until 1835, when the three churches of Whitehaven had ecclesiastical districts allotted to them."
    (Extract from Bulmer's 1901 History & Directory, cited above)

Church Records

  • The following church records are available at the Whitehaven office of the Cumbria Archive Service: Church of England (CRO Reference: PR107)
    Baptisms Marriage Banns Burial Bishops Trans
    1694-1948 1694-1959 1789-1921 1694-1855 1705-1881

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Whitehaven St Nicholas which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from Whitehaven St Nicholas to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Whitehaven St Nicholas has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Probate Records

  • Holy Trinity fell under the authority of the diocese of Preston and wills prior to 1858 were proved in the consistory court there. Records from 1548 to 1858 include original wills, letters of administration and inventories, although there are significant gaps in the years before 1661. These are deposited with the CRO at Whitehaven.
  • The Province of York covered most of northern England, including this parish, and anyone who died leaving property in more than one diocese within the province would have their will proved in the Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of York (PCY) or sometimes in the Chancery Court of the Archbishop of York. These records are now deposited with York University, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.
  • For probate from 1858 on, and general information, see our England - Probate page. However please note registered copy probate records for Cumberland are also available 1858-1941 at the Record Office in Carlisle.

[Page originated by Don Noble in 1997 and updated 12 Jun 1999 - Don Noble]