Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ashbourne

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ashbourne

Primary tabs

topup

Archives and Libraries

The parish had a Reading Room and Library at the Market Hall in 1874.

The Ashbourne Library Local Studies section is a valuable resource for family historians. The Library, at Compton off the A515, is normally open six days a week.

Peter BARR has a photograph of the Ashbourne Library, interior on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2013.

topup

Bibliography

  • PORTER, Lyndsey - Bygone Ashbourne: Then and Now. Landmark Publishing Ltd.
     
  • PORTER, Lyndsey - The Spirit of Asbourne: 2. Landmark Publishing Ltd., 2002. ISBN 1-84306-065-5.
topup

Cemeteries

  • Rosemary LOCKIE provides a transcription of Ashbourn Memorial Inscriptions along with a bit of colorful history regarding the church rector.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2146 and 2150
1861 R.G. 9 / 2519 thru 2521
1891 R.G. 12 / 2753
topup

Charities

Peter TEAL has a photograph of the bust of Catherine BOOTH, who, along with her husband, founded The Salvation Army. This photograph is on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2005.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashbourne area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Oswald.
     
  • Most of the church was originally constructed in 1241, replacing an earlier Saxon and Norman structure.
     
  • King Charles attended divine services in this church in 1645.
     
  • The church was repewed and renovated in 1840.
     
  • The church was restored in 1845.
     
  • The church tower was thoroughly restored in 1891-94 and raised to its original height.
     
  • The church is Grade I listed with British Heritage.
     
  • David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of St. Oswald's Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
     
  • The church has its own website.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1538, but some early pages are fragmentary.
     
  • Mike SPENCER has provided a partial extract of burials found in the parish register. Your additions and corrections are welcomed.
     
  • Rosemary LOCKIE has a web page of Monument Inscriptions that should prove useful.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Ashbourne.
     
  • The Catholic Church, Bellevue, was dedicated to All Saints and was built in 1887.
     
  • The Sion Independent Chapel on Derby Road was built in 1801. The chapel had been founded in 1787.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel in Compton was built in 1822.
     
  • The Primitive Methodist Chapel on Union Street was built in 1846.
     
  • Bill BOADEN has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Mayfield Road on Geo-graph.
     
  • Keith EVANS has a photograph of the Tom FEARNS memorial on Geo-graph, taken December, 2012.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Ashbourne sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
     
topup

Correctional Institutions

  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of Walton Bank on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2017. This place was believed to have been used as a prison for General Rochambeau and other French soldiers from the Napoleonic wars.
     
  • The New Prison, or Lock-up, was built in Union Street in 1844. It only had 4 cells.
     
  • It is not known to the web-page author if any records remain archived for this facility.
     
  • Jane TAYLOR provides this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 31 Jan 1805: MISC: "Committed to the county gaol since our last John ANTHONY, alias John GREEN, alias Wm GREEN, charged with having feloniously stolen from the house of John DOWNS of Ashborne, one painting with glass and wood frame, the property of the said John DOWNS."
topup

Description and Travel

"ASHBOURN is a market town in the parish of its name, which is partly in the hundred of Appletree, and partly in that of Wirksworth; 139 miles N.N.W. from London, 46 S.E. from Manchester, 13 N.W. from Derby, and 9 S.W. from Wirksworth. The town is situate in an interesting part of the country, rather hilly, and well wooded - interspersed with rich valleys, productive meadows, and clear streams - amongst the latter is Compton brook, famous for its trout, and as having contributed to the sport of the poetical anglers, Walton and Cotton."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

The parish is 147 miles north of London and covers 10,167 acres.

Sturston is a hamlet just east of Ashbourne and the site of Sturston Hall. It lies along the Belper Road (the A517).

Yeldersley is a hamlet in the parish and was long a Township in the parish.

The Railway station closed in 1963.

You can see pictures of Ashbourne which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ashbourne to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar provides this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 1 March 1804. BIRTH: "On Friday last, at Ashborne, in this county, the wife of Mr. Charles STANTON, Manager of the Theatre there, of a son."

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ashbourne has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • The town received its Market Charter in 1257.
     
  • David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of Town Hall Yard on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2018. This place was where Bonnie Prince Charlie proclaimed (in December 1749) that his father, James, was the rightful King of England.
     
  • Ronnie LEASK has a nice close-up of the historic plaque noting the above event on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2007.
     
  • A large part of the land was used for grazing in the 19th century and cheese-making was a major industry in the area.
     
  • The Gas Works on Manchester Road were built in 1840 and expanded in 1852.
     
  • Ashbourn County Court started operation on 15 March, 1847 and held its sessions at the Green Man Inn each month.
     
  • Jo TURNER has a photograph of the George and Dragon pub. on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2016.
     
topup
topup

Medical Records

The Victoria Memorial Cottage Hospital opened in 1899. A hospital was not required to archive patient records, but financial records and board minutes can be found in the Archives office. See Ashbourne Hospitals for photographs and a brief history.

topup

Military History

  • Ashbourne was a site where a number of "paroled" prisoners of war from the Napoleonic Wars were housed. There were 172 French POW's held between 1803 and 1814. The British held a number of captive French officers in towns as far from the French coast as possible.
     
  • In 1874, The Dove Valley Rifle Corps was here. Captain DYKE, commanding; Sergt. HEY, musketry instructor.
     
  • In 1895, C Company of the 2nd Volunteer Battalion Sherwood Foresters was here. Captain Walter Hudson MATTHEWS, commanding; Surgeon-Lieut. Hugh McCLAIN, Medical officer; Color-Sergt. Henry Charles ECCLES, drill instructor.
     
  • In 1899, C Company of the 2nd Volunteer Battalion Sherwood Foresters was here. Captain G. D. GOODMAN, commanding; Surgeon-Lieut. John Hugh McCLAIN, Medical officer; Sergt. Henry Charles ECCLES, drill instructor.
     
  • In 1912, C Company of the 6th Battalion Sherwood Foresters maned the Armoury in the Town Hall buildings. Captain V. H. LANGFORD, commanding; Color-Sergt. G. WAIN, drill instructor.
     
  • During World War One, there was a VAD Red Cross Hospital here.
     
  • Chris BUET has a photograph of the War Memorial Arch on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2010.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Memorial gardens on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2017.
     
topup

Military Records

Inside St. Oswald's Church is a monument to Edmund COKAYNE who died at Shrewsbury in 1403.

Inside St. Oswald's Church is a monument to Lieut.-Col. BAINBRIGGE, killed at the battle of Egmont-Op-Zee in 1799.

Also in St. Oswald's Church is a monument to Lieut. Edward BAINBRIGGE, killed in the trenches before Sebastopol in 1855.

There are two Commonwealth War Graves in St. Oswald's churchyard for World War I and one for WWII:

  1. J. LEE, priv., 1st Btn. Sherwood Foresters, age 34, died 11 March 1918.
  2. H. WIBBERLEY, priv., Machine Gun Corps. age 22, died 7 Aug. 1921. Son of Mrs. C. WIBBERLEY, Ashbourne.
     

WWII:

  1. Richard Hill JELF, 2nd liet., Royal Armoured Corps, age 30, died 10 July 1940. Son of Colonel Wilfrid Wykeham JELF.
topup

Names, Geographical

  • In the 1086 Domesday Book this place is listed as "Esseburn".
     
  • The name frequently appears as "Ashborne" in old records.
     
topup

Newspapers

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar shares this notice from the Derby Mercury of 31 December, 1801: "MARRIED: This day, at Ashburn, Dr. PENNINGTON, of Nottingham, to Miss HAYNE, daughter of the late Richard HAYNE, Esq. of Ashburn-green, in this county."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar gives us this column from the Derby Mercury of 3 June, 1802: "MARRIED: On Friday last, at Ashborne, in this county, James LAVENDER, A.M. M.E.S. and surgeon, to Miss ROOSE of the former place."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar give us this notice from the Derby Mercury of 12 August 1802: "SEPARATION: WHEREAS Sarah SMITH, the wife of William SMITH, of Ashborn (sic), in the county of Derby, absented herself from her husband on the second day of June, 1801, in consequence of which a separation took place between them. Notice is Hereby Given that any debts or other encumbrances she may have contracted, or shall hereafter contract, will not on any pretence be accounted for by me. As Witness my Hand
William SMITH
Ashborn, August 10th, 1802."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar reports this announcement from the Derby Mercury of 9 December, 1802: "MARRIED: Same day (yesterday), at Ashborne, Mr. James WHISTON, serjeant in the 4th Troop of the Derbyshire Yeomanry Cavalry, to Miss AYRE, of the same place."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar offers this notice from the Derby Mercury of 24 March 1803: "MARRIED: On the 13 instant, Mr. WITHAM, chymist and druggist, to Miss FRITH, both of Ashborne, in this county."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar offers this clipping from the Derby Mercury of 19 May 1803: "MARRIED: On Monday last, Mr. S. R. PARKES, bookseller, of Ashborne, to Miss E EVANS, of this place."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar provides this snippet from the Derby Mercury of December 15, 1803: "MARRIED: At Ashborne, in this county, on Wednesday the 7th inst. Mr. J. WEBSTER, jun. of Smirrill, to Miss GALLIMORE, of the former place."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar provides this article from the Derby Mercury of 27 September 1804: "MARRIED: This morning at Ashborne, in this county, Mr John DAVENPORT, merchant of Manchester, to Miss Mary GETLIN, of the former place."

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar provides this notice from the Derby Mercury of 14 Jan. 1805: "WANTED: AN APPRENTICE to a Baker and Corn Dealer.- Apply to THOMAS TOMLINSON, St. John's Street, Ashborne."

In 1912, the "Ashbourne Telegraph," published by Joseph H. HENSTOCK in the Market Place, served the community.

In that same year, the "Ashbourne News," published by HOBSON and Sons Ltd. on St. John's Street, competed for news service. Other papers published then were the "Derby Daily Express" and the "Derby Mercury", both published in the Market Place.

The Ashbourne News Telegraph still serves the parish and surrounding area.

topup

Obituaries

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar provides this announcement from the Derby Mercury of 4 November, 1802: "DIED: Friday se'nnight, at Ashborne, in this county, after two days illness, Mr. Mark ROSE, of Manchester, sincerely lamented by his afflicted relatives and friends."

And from the Derby Mercury of 9 December, 1802: "DIED: On the 4th instant, Mrs. PEACH, wife of Mr. PEACH, of Ashborne, in this county."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar offers this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 10 February 1803: "DIED: On the 30th ult. after a long and painful illness, Mr. Edward BRADBURY, hosier and woolcomber, of Church Street, Ashborne, in this county, aged 58."

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar has this announcement from the Derby Mercury of 17 October, 1804: "MISC: And on the 15th inst, Elizabeth HICHINBOTHAM, a poor woman aged upwards of 70 years, accidentally set fire to her clothes at Sturston, near Ashborne, and was burned to death."

Jane TAYLOR also reports from the Derby Mercury of November 7, 1804: "DIED: At Ashborne, in this county, on Friday last, Mr. E. WALKER."

Jane TAYLOR of Redcar provides this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 13 December, 1804. "DIED: Suddenly, a few days since, at Ashborne, in this county, Julien GIRANARD, one of the French prisoners of war on parole at that place."

Jane TAYLOR provides this entry from the Derby Mercury of 20 December, 1804: "DIED: On Saturday last, aged 79, John ALSOPP, Esq. of Ashborne, one of his Majesty's Justices of the Peace for this county; he was a man possessed of many amiable qualities, and died most deservedly lamented."

Jane TAYLOR provides this entry from the Derby Mercury of 14 Feb 1805: "DIED: On Friday se'nnight, at Ashborne, in this county, Mrs. WALKER, bookseller."

topup

Occupations

Jane TAYLOR provides this clip from the Derby Mercury of 14 June 1804: WANTED: "TWO JOURNEYMEN WHITESMITHS Steady sober and good Workmen may meet with constant employ and good wages by applying to Mr. WHITE, Ashborne. N.B. An active Youth about 14 years old, wanted as an Apprentice at the same place." (Editor: A "whitesmith" was a blacksmith who worked in silver and pewter, the softer metals. Many made a good living repairing pewter drinking cups.)

Jane TAYLOR provides this entry from the Derby Mercury of 17 Jan 1805: WANTED: "AN APPRENTICE to a Baker and Corn Dealer.- Apply to THOMAS TOMLINSON, St. John's street, Ashborne."

topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient township and parish in Derby county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • This place formed an Urban District Council in 1894 and parts of Clifton, Compton, Offcote and Underwood were added to Ashbourne parish.
     
  • This parish was partly in the ancient Wirksworth Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • You may contact the Ashbourne Town Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are Not staffed to help you with family history searches.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Owfield's almshouses were were deeded to the town in 1630 and were to hold eight poor people.
     
  • Eirian EVANS has a photograph of Owfield's almshouses on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007.
     
  • Christopher PEGG bequeathed six almshouses in 1669.
     
  • Nicholas SPALDEN bequeathed land to build ten almshouses in 1710.
     
  • David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of Spladen's almshouses on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
     
  • John COOPER of London established six almshouses in 1800.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Dedication Plaque for Cooper's almshouses on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2017.
     
  • Bastardy cases were heard at the Petty Session Hearings at the Green Man Inn every Saturday.
     
  • There is a list of over 20 Asbourne Bastardy Papers held at the DRO on the Yesterdays Journey website. Select "Bastardy Papers" on the left side, then "Ashbourne" from the list displayed.
     
  • With the passage of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became the center of the Ashbourn Poorlaw Union.
     
topup

Schools

  • A grammar school on Church Street at Ashbourne was founded in 1585 under the will of Sir Thomas COCKAYNE, with William BRADBURN and others; now known as Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School.
     
  • "It is also probable that a school - perhaps (a) chantry school - had also been founded prior to the Reformation at Ashbourne."
    (Ref: A History of Derbyshire, Gladwyn Turbutt, 1999).
     
  • There was also another Free School on Church Street endowed in 1710 by Nicholas SPALDIN.
     
  • A National School existed here in 1857 just north of the church.
     
  • A large Infant School existed here in 1857 on Back Lane. It held about 100 children.