Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Barlborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Barlborough

Primary tabs

topup

Archives and Libraries

Barlborough is served by the Mobile Library on route N, which makes a stop at the Community Centre every fourth Tuesday around noon.

topup

Cemeteries

Clowne Cemetery is right on the Barlborough south-east border.

Clowne and Barlborough Cemetery is joint venture of the two parishes which share the annual maintenance costs. In 2006, there was some concern that Barlborough was holding back payments for its share of the costs, which concerned a number of Barlborough residents.

Michael PATTERSON has a photograph of the Clowne Cemetery near Barlborough on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2006 .

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Carburton sub-distgrict of the Worksop Registration District.
     
  • Rosemary LOCKIE provides a partial transcription of Eckington at 1841 census returns. Barlborough was a part of Eckington at that time.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2122
1861 R.G. 9 / 2422
1871 R.G. 10 / 3463

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Barlborough area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint James the Greater.
     
  • In 1899, the church was extensively renovated and refitted.
     
  • The church seats 400.
     
  • John DAVIDSON has a photograph of the Church of St James on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the St James' tower on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1648 for all entries.
     
  • Mike SPENCER has provided a partial extract of burials found in the parish register. Your additions and corrections are welcomed.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Staveley.
     
  • Andrew HILL has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2010.
     
  • William HENDERSON also has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2012.
     
  • The Derbyshire Record Office holds the following parish registers for Barlborough:
  1. Baptisms 1648-1668 and 1676-1965
  2. Marriages 1648-1668 and 1676-1967
  3. Banns 1754-1848 and 1938-1990
  4. Burials 1648-1668 and 1676-1974

A note says there were no baptisms, marriage or burial entries between 1669 and 1675.

topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Carburton sub-district of the Worksop Registration District.
topup

Description and Travel

"BARLBOROUGH is a parish (having no dependent township) in the same hundred as Eckington, about three miles S.S.E. therefrom, nearly eight N.E. from Chesterfield, and about three W. from the village of Whitwell. In the neighbourhood are extensive collieries and mines of iron-stone; and the turnpike roads from Chesterfield to Worksop, and from Sheffield to Mansfield, cross, near the Village, at right angles."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

This parish lies 160 miles north of London and 11 miles south-east of Sheffield. It is divided from Yorkshire by a small rivulet. There is more information at Derbyshire Heritage.

Peter ROBINSON has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2011. The Hall sponsors several events each month and can be hired for your family re-union.

You can see pictures of Barlborough which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Barlborough to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Barlborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • The parish feast day was always the first Sunday in July.
     
  • The parish was at the intersection of two important turnpike roads. One ran from Chesterfield to Worksop and the other from Sheffield to Mansfield.
     
  • Tim MARCHANT has a photograph of the Treble Bob pub. on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2008.
     
  • J. THOMAS has a photograph of the Royal Oak pub. on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
     
  • J. THOMAS also has a photograph of The Apollo pub. on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
     
  • And J. THOMAS also has a photograph of the Rose & Crown pub. on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
     
  • And Richard CROFT also has a photograph of the Rose & Crown pub. and village cross on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
topup

Manors

  • Barlborough Hall  is an Elizabethan style mansion built in 1583 by Frances RODES.
topup
topup

Military History

Although it isn't a War Memorial, Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the Memorial Arch on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2012. Behind this archway is a memorial garden where the dead of two world wars are commemorated.

In the 1911 census, Colonel Reginald Walkelyne CHANDOS-POLE of the Derbyshire Imperial Yeomanry, born in Dalbury Lees, DBY, in 1853, and his family are found in Barlborough.

topup

Military Records

  • For a photograph of the Barlborough War Memorial see the Pictures of England site. Alas, it is difficult to see all the names on the plaque.
     
  • There is a photograph of the Barlborough First and Second World War Memorial Garden at Geograph, taken in July, 2011 by Bill ROBINSON.
topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established).
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Scarsdale Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • In April, 1935, this parish turned over 105 acres to Clowne Civil Parish.
     
  • You may contact the local Barlborough Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT funded to help you with family history searches.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Balsover District Council.
     
  • Peter ROBINSON has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2011. Stop in when they are open and look at the schedule of forth-coming events to see if anyone is speaking on local or family history.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Eckington petty session hearings.
     
  • There is a list of about 10 Barlborough Bastardy Paper held at the DRO on the Yesterdays Journey website. Select "Bastardy Papers" on the left side, then "Barlborough" from the list of parishes displayed.
     
  • In 1752, Margaret and Mary POLE built a hospital here for 6 poor widows.
     
  • Tim MARCHANT has a photograph of that Hospital on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2008.
     
  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1795.
     
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Worksop Poor Law Union.
topup

Schools

Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the Barlborough Primary School on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2012.

Peter ROBINSON also has a photograph of Barlborough School on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2011.