Hide

Brimington

hide
Hide

BRIMINGTON, a parish and township in the hundred of Scarsdale, in the county of Derby, 2 miles to the N.E. of Chesterfield. It was formerly a chapelry belonging to Chesterfield, but now forms a parish of itself. The village is modern and well built, and is situated near the Midland railway, which has a station at Chesterfield, and is about 1 mile distant from the Chesterfield canal.

The living is a perpetual curacy* in the diocese of Lichfield, of the value of £102, in the patronage of the vicar. The church, which was built in 1808, became too small for the population, and was taken down and rebuilt, all but the tower, in 1847. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have chapels here. The parochial charities produce £6 a year. There is a National school. The chief seat is Brimington Hall.”

from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

The Brimington Library on the south side of Church Street (the A619) is normally closed Wednesdays and Sundays. They have a Local Studies and Family History section to help you with your search.

Middlecroft is also served by the Mobile Library on route N, which makes a stop on Fern Avenue every fourth Tuesday around 4pm.

topup

Bibliography

  • BRELSFORD, Vernon - A History of Brimington, 1937. Brimington Parish Council. ISBN 0-9515278-0-03.
topup

Cemeteries

  • The Brimington Cemetery was created in 1878 on four acres with two mortuary chapels.
     
  • The cemetery was under the control of the Burial Board of the parish council.
     
  • The Family History Library has a transcript of the memorial inscriptions (undated). Their microfilm was made in 1995. They also have the cemetery records for 1878 - 1997.
     
  • John POYSER has a photograph of Brimington Crematorium on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2008.
     
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Chesterfield sub-district of the Chesterfield Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2147
1861 R.G. 9 / 2531 & 2532
1881 R.G. 11 / 3434 & 3435
1891 R.G. 12 / 2764
1901 R.G. 13 / 219
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael and All Angels.
     
  • The ancient church was taken down in 1808 and completely rebuilt with the exception of the tower, previously rebuilt in 1796.
     
  • The church tower was rebuilt in 1846.
     
  • The present church was built in 1847.
     
  • The church seats 550.
     
  • Andrew HILL has a photograph of St. Michael Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2011.
     
  • The church used to have its own Web site, but that appears to have shut down.
     
  • A Mission Church (dedicated to St. Mary) was built in Brimington Common in 1875.
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1675. Some older records exist as copies of originals.
     
  • The Family History Library has the parish registers for 1813 through 1956 on microfilm.
     
  • We have a pop-up window of Parish Register burials partially extracted into a text file for your review. Your additions and corrections are welcomed.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Chesterfield.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1806.
     
  • Michael PATTERSON has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2006.
     
  • Peter BARR also has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2010.
     
  • The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here in 1835.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Chesterfield sub-district of the Chesterfield Registration District.
topup

Description & Travel

"BRIMINGTON is a township in the parish of Chesterfield, about 2 miles N. by E. from that town; it contains a chapel under the establishment (rebuilt in 1808), and a meeting-house for dissenters. The Chesterfield canal passes through the township - which contained, in 1831, 759 inhabitants."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

By 1861, the population had climbed to 1,812.

Brimington is 153 miles north of the City of London and only two miles from downtown Chesterfield. It is home to about 8,000 people. The main A619 Trunk Road runs through the middle of the village.

Martin SPECK has a photograph of Brimington Wharf on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012.

Andrew HILL has a photograph of another Canal scene on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2011.

Ringwood Lake is fed by the Trough Brook and is a popular spot for relaxation and recreation. Alan HEARDMAN has a photograph of Ringwood Lake on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2008.

You can see pictures of Brimington which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brimington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • Brimington is first recorded in the 1086 Domesday Book.
     
  • The section of Lysons' Topographical and Historical Account of Derbyshire, 1817, for Chesterfield, transcribed by Barbarann AYARS, includes a portion on Brimington.
     
  • Construction of the Chesterfield Canal between Chesterfield and the River Trent started in October, 1771. The Canal opened for traffic in the summer of 1777.
     
  • In 1862, Brimington had 4 Inns: Bugle Horn, New Inn, the Red Lion and the Three Horse Shoes.
     
  • J. THOMAS has a photograph of the Red Lion pub on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2013.
     
  • David BEVIS has a photograph of what is now called the Clock Tower Business Centre on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2009.
topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK403735 (Lat/Lon: 53.256983, -1.397378), Brimington which are provided by:

topup

Military History

  • There is a photograph of the War Memorial in the church on the Wikipedia website. It includes some comments from the scuptor.
     
  • The Traces of War website shows us that Brimington has 10 Commonwealth War Graves from WWI and 6 from WWII.
topup

Military Records

  • The webpage author found a list of names for the Brimington Roll of Honour. I have researched some of them and other names have been found that are not on the memorial roll. This is not unusual. You can see my progress at Brimington Look-up text.
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry of Chesterfield in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish in September, 1844.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Scarsdale Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • You may contact the local Brimington Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they will NOT do family history searches for you. That is not their job.
     
  • The parish is now part of the Chesterfield Borough Council.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Chesterfield petty session hearings.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, this parish became a member of the Chesterfield Poorlaw Union.
topup

Probate Records

An 1871 Will (made in 1862) by Elizabeth CROFTS of Brimington Common, widow, mentions:

  1. Joseph Whitworth CROFTS residing on farm in Duckmanton of my late husband Joseph CROFTS
  2. eldest dau. Hannah CROFTS
  3. brother in law John CROFTS
  4. Rd. S. GRATTON witness
  5. Frederick W. CALDER witness
topup

Schools

There was a National School here in 1862.

The Central Public Elementary School was built in 1878 and enlarged in 1888 to hold 792 children.

Brimington Common School for infants was built in 1878 for 138 children.

The New Brimington infants school was built in 1904 for 240 children.