Hide

Foolow

hide
Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Tideswell sub-district of the Bakewell Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 184
1851 H.O. 107 / 2150
1861 R.G. 9 / 2543
1891 R.G. 12 / 2777
topup

Church History

  • There has been no Anglican parish church in Foolow until a tiny chapel was built and consecrated and used as a church in 1889.
     
  • The Anglican mission chapel dedicated to Saint Hugh was built in 1889.
     
  • Alan FLEMING has a photograph of St. Hugh's on Geo-graph, taken in 2004.
     
  • Neil THEASBY also has a photograph of St. Hugh's on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2018.
     
topup

Church Records

  • Search the Eyam parish registers for anything prior to 1890.
     
  • The webpage author could find NO parish register information on St. Hugh's Church.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Eyam.
     
  • The Wesleyan Reformed Church was built in 1836.
     
  • Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the former Wesleyan Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012. The chapel was auctioned off in 2011 and is no longer used for divine services.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Tideswell sub-district of the Bakewell Registration District.
topup

Description & Travel

"FOOLOW, a hamlet in the parish of Eyam, hundred of High Peak, county Derby, 2 miles N.E. of Tideswell."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin HINSON ©2003]

The village sits in the High Peak National Park 2 miles west of Eyam. Much of the village dates from the 18th and 19th centuries.

You can see pictures of Foolow which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

John Marius Wilson's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales," 1870-72, described Foolow as:

FOOLOW, a hamlet in Eyam parish, Derby; 2 miles E by N of Tideswell. Real property, £996. Pop., 243. Houses, 56. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Foolow has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

The Milestone Society has a photograph of the old, Grade II Village Cross on Geo-graph, taken in 2008.

Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the Bull's Head Public House on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2018.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK190768 (Lat/Lon: 53.287831, -1.716454), Foolow which are provided by:

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient hamlet in Eyam parish in Derby county and became a separate, modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient High Peak Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • The residents of this parish have elected to forgo a formal parish council and instead have periodic Parish Meetings of all the residents to discuss civic and political issues.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bakewell petty session hearings every Friday.
     
  • There is an index of only one Foolow Bastardy Papers held at the DRO on the Yesterdays Journey website. Select "Bastardy Papers" on the left side, then "Eyam" from the list of parishes displayed.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, this parish became a member of the Bakewell Poorlaw Union.