Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Hartshorne

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Hartshorne

Primary tabs

topup

Archives and Libraries

Hartshorne village is served by the Mobile Library on route 5, which stops on Repton Road every fourth Wednesday after noon.

topup
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Hartshorn sub-district of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2084
1861 R.G. 9 / 2268
1871 R.G. 10 / 3244 & 3245
1891 R.G. 12 / 2509

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hartshorne area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
     
  • The church nave was entirely rebuilt in 1835.
     
  • The church was restored in 1902-03.
     
  • The church seats 350.
     
  • Jerry EVANS has a photograph of St. Peter's Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007.
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date only from 1624 for marriages, and from 1666 for baptisms and burials.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Repton.
     
  • The parish had Baptist and Wesleyan Methodists chapels built before 1912.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Hartshorn sub-district of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
topup

Description and Travel

"HARTSHORN is a parish (having no dependent township), in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, 4 miles N.W. from Ashby-de-la-Zouch. There are mines of coal and iron-stone in the parish; the manufacture of wood screws is carried on to a great extent by Messrs. Wood, Smith and Port, and there is a respectable brewery belonging to Messrs. Brunt and Co. The church, which is dedicated to St. Peter, is in the early style of English architecture: the living is a rectory, in the patronage of the Earl of Chesterfield. the Rev. H. W. Buckley is the present incumbent. Population of the parish, at the last census, 1,204."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

Hartshorne lies on the road from Derby to Ashby-de-la-Zouch, 4 miles north-west from Ashby-de-la-Douzh. The A154 arterial road runs through the parish.

Goseley and Midway are hamlets in the parish.

You can see pictures of Hartshorne which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hartshorne to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hartshorne has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

David DIXON has a photograph of the Admiral Rodney Inn on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2016.

topup

Manors

Jonathan CLITHEROE has a photograph of the Manor House in Hartshorne on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2015.

topup
topup

Military History

  • The War Memorial stands just outside the entrance to Saint Peter's Church. Geoff Pick has a photograph of the front of the church with the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2003.
     
  • Chris PRESTON has a photograph of the War Memorial on the Derbyshire War Memorials website.
topup

Military Records

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar contributes this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 29 March 1804: "At the General Quarter Sessions of the Peace for this county, held yesterday in the County Hall, John CHAPMAN, charged with stealing a quantity of malt, the property of Mrs. GLOVER, of Hartshorn, had an offer from the Court to take his trial or enter into the army, when he chose the latter:"

topup

Newspapers

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar contributes this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 16 June, 1803, MARRIED: "On Tuesday se'nnight, at Hartshorn, in this county, Mr. Barnabas LEEDAM, grocer of Burton upon Trent, to Miss GLOVER, of the former place."

topup

Obituaries

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar provides this announcement from the Derby Mercury of 4 November, 1802: DIED: "On Thursday morning, the Rev. Stebbing SHAW, Rector of Hartshorn, in this county, and author of the History and Antiquities of the county of Stafford."

topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Derby county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Repton and Gresley Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • In August, 1882, this Civil Parish was reduced in size in order to enlarge Smisby Civil parish.
     
  • You may contact the Hartshorne Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist with family history searches.
     
  • District governance is provided by the South Derbyshire District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Swadlincote petty session hearings every other Tuesday.
     
  • There is an index of about 9 Hartshorne Bastardy Papers held at the DRO on the Yesterdays Journey website. Select "Bastardy Papers" on the left side, then "Hartshorne" from the list of parishes displayed.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act, this parish became a member of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Poorlaw Union.
topup

Population

 Year  Inhabitants
1801 580
1821 870
1831 1,204
1851 1,350
topup

Schools

A Public Elementary School (mixed) was built in 1642 and restored in 1898.

An Infants' school was built here in 1786 and opened the next year.