Hayfield Poorlaw Union, Derbyshire


Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, Hayfield became the center of a Poorlaw Union and a Civil Registration District. Local authorities enacted the provisions of the Act on 6 December 1837, placing parishes and townships in the Union.
  • The slight delay in implementing the act was due to the fact that a number of the parishes were already part of a "Gilbert" Union, and some existing poorlaw commissioners were reluctant to change.
  • The Derbyshire locations were: Hayfield, including Great Hamlet, Kinder, Phoside; Beard, including Ollersett, Whittle, Thornsett; Mellor.
  • The Chestershire parishes were: Disley. Later Additions: New Mills (1885), Newtown (1894).
  • The new Workhouse was built in 1839-41 in the hamlet of Ollersett. Sick wards were added in 1867-68.
  • In 1898 the Glossop Sub-district became its own Poorlaw Union.
  • A new infirmary was added in 1902.
  • The workhouse later became known as the Hayfield Public Assistance Institution.
  • Under the National Health Service the instution became the Ollersett View Hospital.
  • The site was redeveloped as residential housing in 2001.
  • Very few records remain at the Derbyshire Record Office. The Guardians' minute book from 1845-1930 survives.




Staff and officers

  • 1857: John WHITE, chairman of the Board of Guardians; John SLATER, clerk to the Board; Job HARRISON, Workhouse master; Mrs. Betty HARRISON, Workhouse matron.
  • 1881: John LIVESLEY, Workhouse master; Mrs. Christina LIVESLEY, Workhouse matron; Sarah WHITEHEAD, nurse.
  • 1912: William WHITEHEAD, chairman of the Board of Guardians; Arthur WALKER, clerk to the Board; Isaac J. GIBBS, treasurer; Richard REYNOLDS, Workhouse master; Mrs. B. E. REYNOLDS, Workhouse matron.