Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Littleover

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Littleover

topup

Archives and Libraries

The Blagraves Library on Blagreaves Lane in Littleover is open 4 days per week and has a small free parking lot. The Library functions as part of the Derby City Library system, so that entire resource is available to you.

topup

Cemeteries

Alan MURRAY-RUT has a photograph of the churchyard at St. Peter's on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2017.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2490
1891 R.G. 12 / 2721

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Littleover area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
     
  • The church was built in the 14th century as a Chapel of Ease.
     
  • The church is on Church Street at Normanton Lane.
     
  • The church was restored in 1857.
     
  • The church was enlarged in 1871.
     
  • The south aisle was added in 1908.
     
  • The church is on Church Street at Normanton Lane.
     
  • The church seats 320.
     
  • The church has its own website, but it offers no history of the building.
     
  • Littleover also has a new Anglican church dedicated to Saint Andrew and constructed in 1979 on Blagraves Lane.
topup

Church Records

  • Remember that you may have to search under Mickleover for records prior to 1866 (when the parish was formed).
     
  • The London Family History Centre has the parish registers for 1680 thru 1924 and the Bishop's Transcripts for 1662 thru 1869 on microfilm.
     
  • Mike SPENCER provides a partial extract of Parish Register Burials for your use.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Derby.
     
  • The Baptists built a chapel here before 1857.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here before 1857.
     
  • The Derby New Church is a Swedenborg church, built in Babbington Lane in 1931.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837. But, remember, this place did not become a separate Civil Parish until the late 1800s.
     
  • The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
topup

Description and Travel

"LITTLEOVER, a chapelry in the parish of Mickleover, hundred of Morlaston, county Derby, 2 miles S.W. of Derby, its post town. The living is a curacy annexed to the vicarage* of Mickleover, in the diocese of Lichfield. The chapel contains a marble monument to one of the Harpur family. A short distance from the village is situated the county lunatic asylum, on an elevated spot from which there is an extensive prospect."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

The village now functions as a suburb of Derby city and lies 3 miles south of the city centre.

You can see pictures of Littleover which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Littleover to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Littleover has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

The parish feast day was held on or immediately after St. Peter's Day (29 June).

Alan MURRAY_RUST has a photograph of the White Swan pub. on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2017.

Malcolm NEAL has a photograph of The Half Moon Public House on Burton Road on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2017.

topup
topup

Military History

Alan MURRAY_RUST has a photograph of the Littleover War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2017.

  • According to the Traces of War website, there are 10 Commonwealth war graves from World War II in the churchyard.
     
  • Geoffery ALCOCK tells us that during WWII, "Huge concrete anti-tank barriers were constructed on Burton Road just beyond Constable Drive and also on Kings Drive just below Elms Ave."
topup

Military Records

Buried in Malta: Stuart J. W. POULSON, RAF 114 Sqdn., RAF Volun. Resrv., age 20, died 16 Apr. 1944, son of Cuthbert W. and Marie E. H. POULSON.

Buried in Italy: Sidney Geo. SMITH, 5th Surevy Regt., Royal Artillery, age 31, died 24 July 1944, husband of Frances Mary SMITH.

Others from Littleover:

  1. BACKHURST Private Henry "Harry" 25561 6th Bn. Lincolnshire Regiment KIA 9/10/1918 Age 21 Son of Alfred & Florence Backhouse. Born at Dalston Nr Hackney. Enlisted in Derby Littleover.
     
  2. GRIEVE Pilot Officer James Gavin Caldwell 101057. 21 Squadron KIA 6/2/1942 Age 29 Son of Dr John C & Jessie GRIEVE of Derby. Malta Memorial Panel 3 Column 1.
     
  3. GROVE Private James William 39461 8th Bn. South Staffordshire Regiment DOW 20/11/1917 Age 34 Son of Frederick George & Fanny GROVE. Dozinghem Military Cmy XV.C.3 .
     
  4. PEGG Lance Corporal Ashley James 25139138 The Worcestershire & Sherwood Foresters Regiment. 15th May 2005. Age 23. Belper Cemetery.
     
  5. PEGG Private George 20087 11th Bn. Sherwood Foresters (Notts & Derby Regiment) KIA 1/7/1916 Age 26 Son of John & Emma PEGG of 112 Porter Rd., Derby. Thiepval Memorial Pier & Face 10C 10D&11A Littleover (St. Peter) Churchyard.
     
  6. THIRLBY Second Lieutenant Stuart Longsdon 6th Bn. Leicestershire Regiment KIA 22/3/1918 Age 25 Son of Frank Stuart & Annie Longsdon THIRLBY of Littleover. Pozieres Memorial Panel 29&30 Littleover (St. Peter) Churchyard.
topup

Names, Geographical

This place was known in post-Roman times as "Parva Over", literally: Little Over.

topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Township and Chapelry in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • In April, 1928, this parish gave up 62 acres to Derby Civil Parish and 156 acres to Normanton Civil parish.
     
  • In April, 1968, this parish was abolished and 14 acres were given to Findern Civil parish.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Derby petty session hearings.
     
  • In 1768 Thomas WADE left a charity of 12 shillings a year to be paid to poor widows on every St. Thomas day. In 1857, his decendant, Geoerge WADE, was still honoring this bequest.
     
  • As a result of the Poorlaw Amendment Act of 1834 reforms, the parish joined the Shardlow Poorlaw Union.
topup

Schools

A public Elementary School was built here as a National School in 1845, then rebuilt in 1912 to hold 165 boys and girls and 60 infants.