Hide

Weston upon Trent

hide
Hide

WESTON-UPON-TRENT, a parish and township in the hundred of Morleston, county Derby, 7 miles S.E. of Derby. The Grand Trunk canal passes through the parish. The village is situated near the river Trent. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Lichfield, value £600. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, contains a monument to Richard Sale, LL.B., who died in 1625. The Wesleyans and Baptists have chapels. Sir R. Wilmot, Bart., is lord of the manor and principal landowner.”

from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868

Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Melbourne sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2140
1861 R.G. 9 / 2489
1891 R.G. 12 / 2720
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary the Virgin.
     
  • The church was restored in 1877.
     
  • The church seats 350.
     
  • There is a photograph of Weston on Trent Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007.
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1565 and until 1586 are on paper, then ensues a gap till 1610, except a few entries in 1605.
     
  • Marriages at Weston-on-Trent, 1565-1812 are available in Nigel Batty-Smith's database of scanned images of Phillimore's Parish Registers.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Melbourne.
     
  • Ian CALDERWOOD has a photograph of the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007. This chapel was founded in 1846.
     
  • Tim HEATON also has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2011.
     
  • Richard VINCE has a photograph of the Weston on Trent Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Melbourne sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
topup

Description & Travel

"WESTON-UPON-TRENT is a small parish, in the same hundred as Shardlow, the village being about two miles south from Aston, and four from Shardlow. The Trent & Mersey canal passes through the parish - which is in the honour of Tutbury. One mile hence is Donington park, one of the seats of the Marquess of Hastings. The church is dedicated to St. Mary: the living is a rectory, in the patronage of Sir Robert Wilmot, Bart. The parish contained at the last census (1831), 387 inhabitants, being an increase only of seven persons since the returns made thirty years before."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

Ian CALDERWOOD has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2007. This is a good place for visitors to get a schedule of forth-coming events.

The parish is 128 miles north of London.

You can see pictures of Weston upon Trent which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Weston upon Trent has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK404280 (Lat/Lon: 52.847994, -1.401569), Weston upon Trent which are provided by:

topup

Military History

Inside the church of St Mary The Virgin there is a First World War Memorial tablet mounted on the wall.

Also inside the church is metal-framed Roll of Honour that covers both World Wars.

topup

Newspapers

Jane TAYLOR in Redcar contributes this snippet from the Derby Mercury of 19 April 1804 MARRIED: On Monday at Weston-upon-Trent, in this county, by the Rev. George GREAVES, Mr. Thomas SALT, of Burton-upon-Trent, (eldest son of Thomas SALT, of Abbotts Bromley, in the county of Stafford, Esq.) to Miss DAWSON, only daughter of the Rev. Wm. DAWSON, of the former place.

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Derby county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • You may contact the local Weston on Trent Parish Council at their Facebook page regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT funded to help you with family history searches. The Parish Council meets at the Village Hall.
     
  • District governance is provided by the South Derbyshire District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Derby petty session hearings every Friday.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, the parish became a member of the Shardlow Poorlaw Union.
topup

Schools

The Public Elementary School (mixed) was built and opened in 1842. It was enlarged in 1911 to hold 60 children.

"Kingfishers" has a photograph of the Old School on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2007.