North East Derbyshire District Council


The North East Derbyshire District Council (NEDDC) is a regional governing body that works with the Derbyshire County Council and individual parish councils within its region. The district was established on 1 April 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972. It was a merger of the Clay Cross and Dronfield urban districts along with all but one parish of Chesterfield Rural District. The district surrounds the city of Chesterfield on three sides. In the 20th century, mining and associated industries were an important source of employment and primary industries for the wider economy, though the former ceased around 1970. At about the same time, some ex-mining towns like Dronfield saw much middle class commuter house building in areas like Dronfield Woodhouse; jobs were typically in Sheffield and Chesterfield.

The individual parishes are:

Parish or Town Parish or Town Parish or Town Parish or Town
Ashover (Arkwright) Dronfield Ridgeway Shirland
Barlow Eckington Morton Tupton
Calow Grassmoor Hasland North Wingfield
Clay Cross Holmesfield Pilsley Unstone
  Killamarsh SuttoncumDuckmanton Wingerworth

You may contact the District Council at the address below. Be aware, they do NOT have time to assist with family history searches: