From White's Devonshire Directory of 1850
A small village 1½ miles E.S.E. of Lynton, and 15 miles W of Minehead is in the picturesque valley of the river Lyn, and has in its parish 271 souls and 6733 acres of land, including Leeford hamlet, and a large tract of moorland on the borders of Somersetshire where the rivers Exe, Lyn and Barle have their sources. F.W. Knight Esq. is the Lord of the manor, owner of most of the soil, and patron of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £9. 4s., and in 1831 at £148. The Rev. T. Roe of Oare, Somersetshire, is the incumbent, and has 57A. 2R. 22P. of glebe. The parsonage is a small cottage; and the Church (St. Brendon) is an ancient structure with a tower and 4 bells.
DIRECTORY:- Elizabeth Bromham, vict., Hunters' Inn; Wm. Burnell, blacksmith; P. Richards,tailor and vict. Millslade Inn; and Richard and Thomas Crick, John and Richard Crocombe, Anthony and John French, Richard Hobbs, Sarah Jones, Hy. Litson, R.G. McDonald, Wm. Sloley, farmers.
Brian Randell, 29 Jan 1998